Uncategorized

  • Call me a cabaret

    - May 11, 2017
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu Musical I Hate: Grease Forget the fact that this is perhaps the most disposable musical ever made. Forget that the moral of the story seems to be “Men, even if you almost...
  • Regents begin tuition discussion

    - May 8, 2017
    New regent leadership opens dialogue about state appropriations and tuition increases. By Marissa Payne marissa-payne@uiowa.edu A summer vote to increase tuition for the second-consecutive summer may occur next month. Student leaders, university presidents, and members of...
  • UI to hire firm to review employment practices, vis-à-vis civil rights

    - May 5, 2017
    The University of Iowa will soon hire an independent firm to conduct an external review of university employment practices based on the Iowa Civil Rights Act. The review will begin with the UI Athletics Department. According...
  • For a day, science, not silence, reigns

    - Apr 24, 2017
    Tens of thousands of people gathered for the March for Science on Washington. By Kasra Zarei kasra-zarei@uiowa.edu WASHINGTON — Enthusiastic, jubilant scientists and lovers of science braved the rain to march in the nation’s capital on...
  • Pirates of Parody

    - Apr 20, 2017
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu The Pirates of Penzance was written and produced nearly 140 years ago to both popular and critical acclaim. However, the reason this operetta was produced in the first place is another story...
  • The UISG independent senator candidates

    - Apr 11, 2017
    Thirteen candidates are running for four seats as University of Iowa Student Government independent senators for the 2017-18 school year. Below are profiles on six of the candidates who spoke at the UISG independent senator debate...
  • Ghostface slays ’em in Englert

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Austin Anderson  austin-anderson@uiowa.edu The bass thumped heavily in the rafters of the decades-old Englert Theater as people trickled in, creating a poignant juxtaposition in a venue built during the closing era of silent film. The...
  • ‘Diamonds’ glisten at Hancher’s Mission Creek kickoff

    - Apr 5, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu   Opening for Andrew Bird on Tuesday evening, My Brightest Diamond was unfamiliar to many concert goers. But these attendees absolutely left the show as fans, springing to their feet in a...
  • Theaters protest Orwellian political climate with “1984” screening

    - Apr 4, 2017
    Hannah Crooks hannah-crooks@uiowa.edu   Increasingly, connections between our current political climate and the dystopian film, 1984, have come clearer into view. This week, with a special screening at FilmScene, 118 E. College St., and other cinemas...
  • Blotters

    - Mar 28, 2017
    Allen Nicholas, 30, 2401 Bartelt Road, was charged Mar. 28 with disorderly conduct and fifth-degree criminal mischief.   Clinton Thomae, 39, 2309 Friendship St., was charged Mar. 27 with OWI and interference of official acts.  ...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links