Columns

  • International territorialism in Syria

    - Oct 9, 2015
    Paul Osgerby paul-osgerby@uiowa.edu Russia has recently ramped up its involvement in the regional power struggle of Syria, launching its first air strikes in the country in what Moscow is calling efforts to dismantle ISIS. The country...
  • Jason Chaffetz, the latest foolhardy Republican firebrand

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Jacob Prall prall.jacob@gmail.com Mr. Chaffetz. Oh boy, Mr. Chaffetz. Republican representative out of Utah, Jason Chaffetz. What are you doing running for speaker of the House? Chaffetz, age 48, bright-eyed and fairly new to the house...
  • The power in sharing stories

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Sydney Newton sydney-newton@uiowa.edu Brandon Stanton, the creator of Humans of New York, is doing something incredible. The art/humanities website has more than 15 million likes on Facebook. Simply put, this page is just photographs of people...
  • America’s role in the Mid-East is being challenged by Russia

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Jace Brady jacebrady@gmail.com There was a time when no one would dare move against American interests in any part of the world, least of all the Middle East. This era seems to have come to an...
  • The dilemma of Doctors Without Borders in Kunduz, Afghanistan

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Samuel Studer samuel-studer@uiowa.edu The situation in the worn-torn city of Kunduz, Afghanistan got a little more difficult.  The aid organization Doctors Without Borders withdrew from the city. Doctors Without Borders was one of the last...
  • What should we expect from Generation Z?

    - Oct 7, 2015
    Joe Lane joseph-lane@uiowa.edu In the past few weeks, there have been a number of articles with headlines that start, “Move over millennials …” indicating that Generation Y is no longer in the limelight. Moreover, the next...
  • Health-care inefficiency needs to be addressed

    - Oct 7, 2015
    Hannah Soyer hannah-soyer@uiowa.edu A recent investigation conducted by the Des Moines Register found that there was a significant backlog in Social Security disability cases overseen by Administrative Judge Tela Gatewood in Iowa. One case was so...
  • Hark, the Harreld angles come

    - Oct 6, 2015
    Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com In this life, you gotta know the angles first. My junior-high geometry teacher said that. Or maybe it was my bookie. (Except I don’t have a bookie. Explains why I don’t gamble. Except...
  • We fail to understand the underlying causes of mass shootings

    - Oct 6, 2015
    Marcus Brown marcusvbrown@gmail.com The latest in what can only be described as an epidemic of mass shootings in the U.S occurred in Roseburg, Oregon, at Umpqua Community College on Oct. 1. The tragedy that left nine...
  • Musings on Mars

    - Oct 6, 2015
    Keith Reed keith-reed@uiowa.edu On Sept. 28, NASA announced it had discovered evidence of flowing water on Mars. NASA used a technique that detected hydrated minerals flowing down mountain slopes. Space has always been an intriguing topic...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links