Columns

  • To Torrent or to not Torrent 

    - Mar 9, 2016
    Keith Reed Keith-reed@uiowa.edu I will neither confirm nor deny that I have participated in torrenting in the past or present. Though, as a child of the digital age, torrenting is something that has always been in...
  • Needed change in the Iowa Department of Human Services 

    - Mar 9, 2016
    Hannah Soyer hannah-soyer@uiowa.edu This past week, the Iowa Department of Human Services announced that it had accidentally distributed confidential information of 425 Iowans living in nursing homes. The information that was leaked included the people’s names,...
  • The crumbling Republican party 


    - Mar 7, 2016
    Jace Brady Jace-brady@uiowa.edu Fox News held a Republican primary debate in Detroit last week. This venue proved to be the perfect location for the shameful performance provided by Fox News moderators and several Republican candidates.  Detroit...
  • Caitlyn Jenner & Ted Cruz

    - Mar 7, 2016
    Christopher Cervantes Crvantes@uiowa.edu Election years have, and always will be, a maelstrom of ideologies and arguments that mash together into one big conundrum. Maybe that’s why whenever we hear any type of public figure show support...
  • Newton: Feminism in the 21st century

    - Mar 4, 2016
    Sydney Newton Sydney-newton@uiowa.edu There are many connotations that come along with “feminism” nowadays. And sadly, a lot of them are negative. Some in our society have morphed this term into something scary and something that it...
  • Reed: Life as a liberal arts major

    - Mar 4, 2016
    Keith Reed Keith-reed@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa held its semiannual Career and Internship Fair on Feb. 24. I have attended these fairs since I started at the UI, which comes up to six at this point....
  • Transgender rights vs. majority comfort 

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Marcus Vincent Brown Marcus-brown@uiowa.edu South Dakota has become the battleground for the future of LGBTQ students, specifically those who identify as transgender in public schools. On Tuesday, South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard vetoed a bill that...
  • State segregation is not a solution

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Jack Dugan John-dugan@uiowa.edu The Israeli/Palestinian conflict, waged ruthlessly by extremists on either side, has been a source of constant Western scrutiny and Middle Eastern malaise since the Six Day War in 1967, in which Israel launched...
  • Studer: The narrowing Democratic race

    - Mar 1, 2016
    Samuel Studer samuel-studer@uiowa.edu Over the weekend, Hillary Clinton produced a dominating win over Bernie Sanders in South Carolina’s Democratic primary, one of her biggest accomplishments of the race. This year, she was ahead by 56 percentage...
  • Elliot: Our own Waterloo

    - Mar 1, 2016
    Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com Last week, the Washington Post made an interesting observation: “The Texas primary next Tuesday now becomes either Cruz’s Alamo or his Waterloo, depending on what happens.” Um, hmm. Well, yes, the “Texas primary...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links