Columns

  • Sorensen: Horror movies don’t deserve bad reputation

    - Sep 7, 2017
    Many moviegoers stay far away from horror movies, but not all of them are about the “scares.” By Ronnie Sorensen ronnie-sorensen@uiowa.edu With Stephen King’s newest movie adaptation, IT, headed for release in theaters Friday, questions are...
  • Laursen: We aren’t the good guys anymore

    - Sep 7, 2017
    When we think ‘North Korea’, we should not think war. By Lucee Laursen lucee-laursen@uiowa.edu Every Friday, the 161st chapter of a group called Veterans for Peace has a peace vigil on the Pentacrest. Although the event...
  • History warns us about North Korean conflict

    - Sep 7, 2017
    Editor’s Note: This article has been removed after the DI discovered sourcing and attribution issues during a routine review process. Please support award-winning college journalism and engagement. Click here to donate....Read More
  • Smith: Wonder Woman is back

    - Sep 6, 2017
    In today’s political climate, the success of a female superhero film speaks volumes. By Wylliam Smith wylliam-smith@uiowa.edu Wonder Woman has come back to theaters. As if the first run on the big screen wasn’t already utterly...
  • Shanahan: Inform yourself to inform others

    - Sep 6, 2017
    More young adults should be keeping better updated with the news in order to make well-informed opinions. Julia Shanahan julia-shanahan@uiowa.edu Reading the news when I wake up in the morning is automatic for me, being that...
  • Elliot: Hard rains in the wind

    - Sep 5, 2017
    By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com Picture this: Our Great Leader, standing on the edge of a disaster, praises those gathered for being a great crowd. Kind of like a rookie comedian at his first open mic. But...
  • Sorensen: Technology does not cause social isolation on campus

    - Sep 1, 2017
    By Ronnie Sorensen ronnie-sorensen@uiowa.edu Technology has had a major effect in our world whether we like it or not. Larger phones, more powerful computer systems, growing video-game consoles, and captivating social-media apps are just some of...
  • Coltrain: The dangers of glorifying Xanax

    - Aug 31, 2017
    Glorifying Xanax’s presence in rap discounts the dangers of the drug itself. By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Rap culture has been around for decades with constant evolution and change backing its tracks. The Internet opened the doors...
  • Kumar: Pardoning Arpaio is disrespectful to U.S. judicial system

    - Aug 31, 2017
    Just because a U.S. president can pardon someone doesn’t mean they should. By Michelle Kumar michelle-kumar@uiowa.edu President Trump is obviously in the headlines a lot, and frankly, I’ve just learned to ignore most of it. This...
  • Shanahan: Students should be taking proper STI precautions

    - Aug 30, 2017
    With common STDs/STIs on the rise, students should be strongly encouraged to get tested along with their required vaccinations. Julia Shanahan julia-shanahan@uiowa.edu Since Planned Parenthood of the Heartland closed one-third of its Iowa clinics last June,...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links