Columns

  • Elliot: Rhinoceros attacks the chairs, à la Ionesco

    - May 9, 2017
    By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com So it’s finals week, and for far too many university students, it seems like the Alps of absurdity, not to mention the Himalayas of caffeine-ity. Full disclosure: Caffeine-ity doesn’t actually exist in...
  • Schrichfield: France succeeds where U.S. fails; c ’est la vie

    - May 9, 2017
    Stephen Schrichfield  stephen-schrichfield@uiowa.edu The premise of the 2017 French presidential runoff election was all too familiar. Emmanuel Macron stood as the centrist, pro-European Union, and, in all accounts, globalist candidate. Upon first glance Macron’s opponent shares...
  • Custardo: No excuses for sexual assault

    - May 9, 2017
    Katrina Custardo  katrina-custardo@uiowa.edu In November 2015, University of Iowa students were alerted that there was a sexual predator roaming the West S0ide near the UI Hospitals and Clinics. In a Hawk Alert email after the fact,...
  • Townsend: It’s time we talk about suicide, mental-illness stigma

    - May 8, 2017
    By Laura Townsend laura-townsend@uiowa.edu I have lived with depression for nearly 10 years. In middle school, I confided to a teacher about my pain after bursting into tears in his classroom. He told me apathetically, “Puberty...
  • Armstrong: Where’s Aldo? Budget cuts kill the Leopold Center

    - May 8, 2017
    By Dot Armstrong  dorothy-armstrong@uiowa.edu Iowa farming practices exemplify a paradoxical and toxic relationship between humans and the environment. Aggressive commercial agriculture saps the vitality from Iowa’s ecosystems, and the repercussions manifest themselves in floods, algae blooms,...
  • Coltrain: Bye, Bill Nye

    - May 5, 2017
    By Travis Coltrain  travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Bill Nye strikes-out in the first season of “Bill Nye Saves the World,” his new Netflix series. Nye says the series is based on the concept of “discussing controversial subjects in science.”...
  • Smith: Diversity isn’t killing comics

    - May 5, 2017
    By Wylliam Smith  wylliam-smith@uiowa.edu In response to a drop in sales, Marvel, one of the largest comic enterprises, recently announced it will return to its original “legacy heroes,” most of which are white males. Recently, Marvel...
  • Williams: Paranoia over threats unhelpful, at the very least

    - May 5, 2017
    By Dan Williams  dan.william@yahoo.com Last week, an advertisement for the “alt-right” was found in the Main Library stacks. The advertisement was a black business card with white and purple text. On the front it said, “America was...
  • Point/Counterpoint: Should UI go ‘wet’ or stay ‘dry’?

    - May 4, 2017
    UI can be both by Joe Lane  joseph-lane@uiowa.edu In my three years giving nearly 200 tours of the University of Iowa, easily the most common questions are those about alcohol. Campus visitors are concerned about the...
  • Custardo: St. Olaf students protest racial violence

    - May 3, 2017
    by Katrina Custardo  katrina-custardo@uiowa.edu As a native Minnesotan who went to a very big high school (my graduating class was 760), I have heard about a smaller college called St. Olaf. I even have some friends...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links