Columns

  • Williams: No viable policy follows from ‘We’re All Immigrants’

    - Apr 14, 2017
    By Dan Williams dan.willia@yahoo.com Immigration is one of the most important debates we should have. The issue gets at fundamental fears and hopes about what America is, could be, and is becoming. It would be a...
  • Custardo: Sorry, not sorry

    - Apr 13, 2017
    by Katrina Custardo  katrina-custardo@uiowa.edu A week ago in the Minnesota House of Representatives, House Minority Leader Melissa Hortman criticized some of her male colleagues who thought playing cards was more important than listening to fellow representatives...
  • Smith: Internet fosters communities

    - Apr 12, 2017
    By Wylliam Smith  wylliam-smith@uiowa.edu Diversity at Iowa, held a screening of the documentary Catfish on Monday. In the documentary, Nev Schulman was catfished, meaning he was tricked into an online relationship with someone claiming to be...
  • Lane: Trump’s Syria bombing: not so humanitarian as it may seem

    - Apr 12, 2017
    By Joe Lane  joseph-lane@uiowa.edu Last week, President Donald Trump’s administration authorized a military strike on the airfield from which the recent chemical attack in Syria was launched. The attack, according to a number of sources, resulted...
  • Rosario: Autism group misses the mark

    - Apr 12, 2017
    By Isabella Rosario  isabella-rosario@uiowa.edu Last week, actor William Shatner tweeted “#NewProfilePic #lightitupblue #WorldAutismAwarenessDay” along with a chalk-drawn picture of a puzzle piece in a light bulb. The “Star Trek” icon’s tweet was met with immense backlash...
  • Pope: Democracy is killed by the Senate

    - Apr 11, 2017
    By Mars Thera Pope  thera-pope@uiowa.edu The U.S. Senate confirmed Judge Neil Gorsuch to be the 113th U.S. Supreme Court justice on April 7. The final vote was 54-45 in approving the confirmation without an unneeded tiebreaking...
  • Pillard: Dear Iowa: Decriminalize cannabis

    - Apr 11, 2017
    By Logan Pillard logan-pillard@uiowa.edu Attorney General Jeff Sessions seems determined to resurrect the failed War on Drugs after his latest appointment of proud cannabis condemner Steven Cook as one of his top commanders. The Justice Department...
  • Elliot: Apocalypse sometime

    - Apr 11, 2017
    By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com So a bunch of us were hanging out, joking around, discussing the price of beer and the coming apocalypse (featuring, but not limited to, the Red Sox pitching staff). You know, normal...
  • Weigel: State politics plagued by partisanship, intransigence

    - Apr 10, 2017
    By Zach Weigel zachary-weigel@uiowa.edu Although the state Legislature and Gov. Terry Branstad have made it clear that funding education is not a priority, evidenced by notable divestitures across all levels (K-12 and postsecondary) over the last...
  • Armstrong: EPA ain’t here to stay

    - Apr 10, 2017
    by Dot Armstrong  dorothy-armstrong@uiowa.edu President Trump’s 2018 monetary plan makes the future of government budgeting look like a slasher film — “Nightmare on Pennsylvania Avenue.” Like Freddie Kruger, Trump cuts every agency within reach. Many organizations...