Columns

  • Judd: People must take action soon to prevent global climate change

    - Sep 15, 2017
    One of the biggest threats that the world faces is one that we can prevent: global climate change. By Constance Judd constance-judd@uiowa.edu Far too often, the terms “global warming” and “climate change” are used interchangeably when,...
  • Pope: Iowa unions are losing power

    - Sep 14, 2017
    The state of Iowa unions looks grim. By Mars Thera Pope thera-pope@uiowa.edu Unions for public workers today have lost their power in Iowa. Such unions cannot negotiate health insurance, seniority perks, or evaluation procedure. They must...
  • Shanahan: Student parking should be more convenient

    - Sep 14, 2017
    The Hawkeye Storage Lot has been in use for 30 years and has greatly expanded, but students are still finding it a hassle to park their cars. By Julia Shanahan julia-shanahan@uiowa.edu Bringing a car to college...
  • Laursen: Who does Hall really represent?

    - Sep 14, 2017
    What voters should know about Ryan Hall’s City Council campaign. By Lucee Laursen lucee-laursen@uiowa.edu Student involvement in civic duties should be something that is encouraged. In the 2016 presidential election, only 50 percent of people ages...
  • Smith: I am more than just a black man

    - Sep 13, 2017
    Just because someone is black doesn’t mean they’re a black radical—And not every action by a person of color has to be race-related. Wylliam Smith wylliam-smith@uiowa.edu What will you be remembered for? That is the thought...
  • Elliot: The hurricanes are here, Rush Limbaugh

    - Sep 12, 2017
    Weather has no political agenda. By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com So, hurricanes, nuclear war with North Korea, hurricanes, rising federal debt, storm surges, battle to the death over raising the federal debt ceiling, hurricanes spawning tornadoes, Yankees...
  • Sorensen: Catlett Hall’s showcase brings students together

    - Sep 12, 2017
    Musical-talent showcase hosted by Arts LLC entertains students. By Ronnie Sorensen ronnie-sorensen@uiowa.edu On Sept. 7, the Catlett resident assistants on the seventh floor of the dorm hosted an instrumental music-talent showcase for all Arts LLC students...
  • Kumar: Congress needs to stand up for DREAMers

    - Sep 8, 2017
    Although the administration has ended DACA, congress needs to propose policies that protect DREAMers and immigrants. By Michelle Kumar michelle-kumar@uiowa.edu   This past week, President Trump decided to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program....
  • Judd: Relief work for Hurricane Harvey shows American resilience

    - Sep 8, 2017
    In the wake of Hurricane Harvey, efforts in Iowa and across the United States show our divided nation can work together. By Constance Judd constance-judd@uiowa.edu As John F. Kennedy once said, “In a time of domestic...
  • Sorensen: Horror movies don’t deserve bad reputation

    - Sep 7, 2017
    Many moviegoers stay far away from horror movies, but not all of them are about the “scares.” By Ronnie Sorensen ronnie-sorensen@uiowa.edu With Stephen King’s newest movie adaptation, IT, headed for release in theaters Friday, questions are...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links