Columns

  • Coltrain: The war on Big Pharma

    - Apr 20, 2017
    By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Since former President Nixon declared a “war on drugs” in 1971, the battle has been going strong. However, the focus has shifted since the 1970s. The war has begun to attack drugs...
  • Armstong: Building bridges at UI

    - Apr 19, 2017
    By Dot Armstrong  dorothy-armstrong@uiowa.edu I have a confession to make: I did not vote in the University of Iowa Student Government elections. I was in a fog of senioritis and forgot to perform my democratic duty....
  • Lane: Cold War never ends

    - Apr 19, 2017
    By Joe Lane joesph-lane@uiowa.edu According to the history books, the Cold War ended in 1991 with the fall of the Soviet Union. Despite the implementation of the Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty and President Richard Nixon’s attempts...
  • Weigel: Voter ID backlash justified or hogwash?

    - Apr 19, 2017
    By Zach Weigel zachary-weigel@uiowa.edu Amid tense times in regard to international politics (Syria missile strike, the “MOAB” dropped on ISIS, Turkey’s constitutional overhaul, and anxieties over possible escalation in North Korea), politics in Iowa are also...
  • Elliot: Life imitates us (what?)

    - Apr 18, 2017
    By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com So it’s been a marvelous few weeks recently, if you’re into April imitating March, which imitated February, which imitated April, which culminated in clams falling from the sky. In their shells. Which...
  • Pillard: Trumpland, USA

    - Apr 18, 2017
    By Logan Pillard logan-pillard@uiowa.edu Russian spies, inner-circle feuds, weekly bomb threats — the Trump White House has about as much drama as any prime-time Shonda Rhimes’ television show, or, as Trump is accustomed, reality TV. In...
  • Schrichfield: What the United Airlines fiasco taught us about modern conflicts

    - Apr 18, 2017
    By Stephen Schrichfield stephen-schrichfield@uiowa.edu There are always two sides of a story. In the wake of United’s brutal removal of passenger David Dao, one side was presented, Dao’s, while the opposing side fumbled numerous responses. The...
  • Coltrain: Destroy the patriarchal view on sex work

    - Apr 17, 2017
    By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Prostitution and sex work have a pretty stale stigma attached to the jobs, something I’ve never quite understood. Many of those against sex work will always argue that it is wrong to...
  • Pope: We are all united through United’s actions

    - Apr 17, 2017
    By Mars Thera Pope  thera-pope@uiowa.edu United Airlines, a company that has provided transportation by air for more than 80 years, has put itself in the midst of a public-relations nightmare. With three various stories of the...
  • Townsend: Spreading the word about President Trump

    - Apr 14, 2017
    By Laura Townsend laura-townsend@uiowa.edu After another successful Mission Creek Festival last weekend, it has become evident that public figures are using their unique position to speak out against the Trump administration and the kind of dangerous...