Columns

  • Jaimes: University Lecture Committee displays liberal bias

    - Nov 17, 2017
    The University Lecture Committee fails in their mission to host thought-provoking lecturers, often only hosting left-leaning political speakers. By Marina Jaimes marina-jaimes@uiowa.edu According to its website, the goal of the University Lecture Committee is “To stimulate...
  • Laursen: Iowa law must protect transgender people

    - Nov 17, 2017
    A gender-fluid teen was slain in Burlington in 2016. Iowa hate-crime laws did not protect the teen. By Lucee Laursen lucee-laursen@uiowa.edu In Iowa, there is not a law protecting against hate crimes based on gender identity....
  • Prall: GOP tax plan stunts renewable energy

    - Nov 16, 2017
    The global community is shifting toward smarter energy, but the GOP tax plan will be a step in the wrong direction. By Jacob Prall jacob-prall@uiowa.edu Beneath the Arc de Triumph, electric cars zip down the Champs-Élysées....
  • Lee: Choosing an attitude of gratitude

    - Nov 16, 2017
    Giving thanks is important all times of year and can improve your way of life. By Ella Lee ella-lee@uiowa.edu It seems as though since last fall, the world has hardly gotten a break from strife. Among...
  • Smith: The myth of gay being the new black

    - Nov 14, 2017
    While each have their own problems, the prejudice the LGBTQIA+ community face will never match the systemic racism people of color face every day. By Wylliam Smith            wylliam-smith@uiowa.edu When I was in high school, my school...
  • Elliot: Martian Day in America arriving soon

    - Nov 14, 2017
    By Beau Elliot beauelliot@gmail.com Of all the problems facing this society — and as soon as you say that, some wag points out that problems don’t really face society, they gaze off obliquely at the horizon,...
  • Helton: Fighting sexual violence should be everyone’s fight

    - Nov 13, 2017
    Recent allegations against Louis C.K., Roy Moore show that it’s up to all of us to stand up to sexual violence. By Elijah Helton elijah-helton@uiowa.edu There isn’t a whole lot of bipartisanship remaining in American politics....
  • Rosario: UI lack of attendance policy punishes sick students

    - Nov 12, 2017
    Students get sick and have bad days just like everyone else. They shouldn’t be punished for being human. By Isabella Rosario isabella-rosario@uiowa.edu Last year, I lived in the dorms, constantly exposed to germs in very close...
  • Helton: Gunshots ring out, GOP is silent

    - Nov 10, 2017
    Congress doesn’t have to be anti-gun to do something about mass shootings. By Elijah Helton elijah-helton@uiowa.edu With almost any debate, it’s possible to see both sides. Whether it’s capitalism, free speech, or pizza toppings, there’s always...
  • Judd: Trump & torture

    - Nov 9, 2017
    President Trump uses terrorism to push immigration and national security reform, which is not in line with U.S. values.  By Constance Judd constance-judd@uiowa.edu It is not uncommon for presidents to weigh in on divisive issues at...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links