News

  • Iowa gets windy with it

    - Dec 11, 2015
    By Austin Petroski austin-petroski@uiowa.edu University of Iowa Provost P. Barry Butler gave a presentation on the benefits of wind energy at the Johnson County Heath and Human Services Building Thursday. He described the history of wind...
  • UISG dwaddles along this semester

    - Dec 11, 2015
    By Beau Bowman beau-bowman@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa Student Government tries its best to simulate how the U.S. government operates. They both vote on bills, they both use the same legislative process, and some may say...
  • AAUP report condemns presidential search

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By Stacey Murray stacey-murray@uiowa.edu The American Association of University Professors released a report today damning the process that led to the hiring of Bruce Harreld, and further consequences could include intervention from a regional accreditation agency or...
  • Robinson delineates state of scholarship

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu As President Barack Obama’s Jan. 16th final State of the Union address approaches, a packed house at the Englert Theatre, 221 E. Washington St., on Wednesday evening witnessed one of Iowa City’s,...
  • UI will abandon ISIS acronym

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By KayLynn Harris Kaylynn-harris@uiowa.edu The Iowa Student Information Systems student tools collection — or ISIS — will be renamed after the spring 2016 sem ester is over. The idea of renaming the system came up when...
  • Harreld addresses Staff Council

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By Austin Petroski austin-petroski@uiowa.edu University of Iowa President Bruce Harreld addressed the University of Iowa Staff Council for the first time on Wednesday, addressing his vision and experience during his short time at the UI. “You’re...
  • Rowling into letters

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Harry Potter fans at the University of Iowa are planning the next steps to bring J.K. Rowling to Iowa City. By Anis Shakirah Mohd Muslimin anisshakirah-mohdmuslimin@uiowa.edu Potterheads could not contain their excitement when they gathered to...
  • FilmScene to get new screens

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By Gage Miskimen gage-miskimen@uiowa.edu There could be a new screen at a familiar scene in Iowa City. FilmScene, located at 118 E. College St., is looking to add a second viewing screen at its downtown location...
  • Communicating to the incarcerated

    - Dec 10, 2015
    alexandria-kramer@uiowa.edu A picture’s worth a thousand words — but a thousand words to a prisoners may make them feel closer to freedom than anything else. Benjamin Wills, a University of Iowa graduate teaching assistant in art,...
  • Police briefs

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Iowa City man charged with OWI Authorities have accused an Iowa City man of driving under the influence for the third time. Hayden Mayfield, 19, was charged Dec. 9 with third-offense OWI. Officers stopped a gray...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links