News

  • ‘Gidion’s Knot’ set for stage this weekend

    - Mar 3, 2016
    Dreamwell’s new production of *Gidion’s Knot* shows the aftermath of a young boy’s suicide. By Gracey Murphy gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu Parent-teacher conferences: Children’s best or worst efforts will reach the ears of their mothers and fathers. However, Gidion’s...
  • The Daily Break (03/03/16)

    - Mar 2, 2016
    HOROSCOPES ARIES (March 21-April 19): Embrace life, and look for adventure and excitement. Love is in the stars, and romance will turn into a medley of interesting options. Your innovative way of doing things will capture...
  • Congressional races start to bubble

    - Mar 2, 2016
    By Rebecca Morin  |  rebeccamorin@uiowa.edu It’s never too early. As the filing period to run for state and federal office opened Monday — 100 days until the primary elections, several Democrats and Republican hopefuls are vying...
  • Council nixes art-project funding

    - Mar 2, 2016
    By Katelyn Weisbrod  |  katelyn-weisbrod@uiowa.edu The Iowa City City Council voted 5-2 Tuesday not  to provide funding for a downtown Iowa City art project after Iowa City Major Jim Throgmorton changed his position from a previous...
  • UI to see youth movement

    - Mar 2, 2016
    By Kaylyn Kluck  |  kaylyn-kluck@uiowa.edu Starting next fall, students on campus might see 16-year-olds sitting beside them in lecture, eating in the dining halls, and living in the dorms. These young new additions to the university...
  • GOP sticks to no Supreme Court hearings

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Sen. Chuck Grassley leaves White House with no change on Supreme Court hearings. By Brent Griffiths  |  brent-griffiths@uiowa.edu President Obama summoned Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, and another top Senate Republican to the Oval Office on Monday...
  • Snapping back to having fun

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Old Dominion will perform this evening in the IMU Main Lounge. By Grace Pateras  |  grace-pateras@uiowa.edu “Break Up with Him” and “Snapback” have been blasting through car stereos the past few months, and now listeners can...
  • UISG nixes KRUI transmitter

    - Mar 2, 2016
    By Beau Bowman beau-bowman@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa Student Government addressed several issues at on Tuesday, including KRUI’s need for a new transmitter and a new UI Food Pantry. UISG heard from Ben Cunningham and Alyssa...
  • Police briefs

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Man charged with 3rd OWI Iowa City police have accused an Iowa City man of driving under the influence. Christopher Bush, 20, 405 N. Linn St., was charged with third-offense OWI. On Feb. 26, at 1:32...
  • UI tops in Fulbright scholars

    - Mar 2, 2016
    By Madeline Murphy Smith madeline-m-smith@uiowa.edu A record-breaking number of University of Iowa students have been awarded grants that will allow them to travel the world. Twelve students, the highest number of students to get awards for...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links