News

  • Temp homeless shelter up in the air

    - Oct 26, 2015
    By Alex Kramer  |   alexandria-kramer@uiowa.edu Iowa City’s homeless may have to find a new temporary shelter this winter. The owners of last year’s temporary location, a vacant former Aldi at 1534 S. Gilbert St., will...
  • Smiley to read in IC

    - Oct 26, 2015
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu For Jane Smiley, two things have always been a part of her life: reading and writing. Her writing career has been fruitful, including a Pulitzer Prize for her novel A Thousand Acres....
  • Ped Mall citations go down

    - Oct 26, 2015
    By Gage Miskimen gage-miskimen@uiowa.edu Two years after Iowa City implemented an ordinance aimed at regulating the Pedestrian Mall, complaints to police have dropped dramatically. David Schwindt, Iowa City police’s downtown beat officer, said he doesn’t write...
  • Shopgrrrls empowers artists

    - Oct 26, 2015
    By Cindy Garcia cindy-garcia@uiowa.edu Echoing the ’90s feminist punk movement called Riot grrrl, Shopgrrrl is empowering women on campus in a more unconventional setting — the woodshop. Shopgrrrl, which started this semester, is a skill-share and...
  • Clinton, Sanders lead charge in Iowa

    - Oct 26, 2015
    Iowa Democrats ‘felt the Bern’ at the Iowa Democratic Party’s Jefferson-Jackson Dinner. By Rebecca Morin rebecca-morin@uiowa.edu Last week was Hillary Clinton’s best week of the election. Headlines from Politico to the Boston Globe flooded in, reporting the...
  • Takeaways from the Jefferson-Jackson Dinner

    - Oct 26, 2015
    DES MOINES — From the yells of “we want, we want Bernie” to chants of “O’Malley to screams of “I’m with her,” the three major Democratic candidates spoke to Iowa Democrats on the evening of Oct....
  • Local podcast stays healthy

    - Oct 26, 2015
    By Alyssa Guzman alyssa-guzman@uiowa.edu When David Etler started the Short Coat Podcast in 2010, he didn’t exactly know where to begin. Etler, a medical administrator at the University of Iowa, spent a few years exploring the...
  • On board with never bored

    - Oct 26, 2015
    Group proves board games are still alive and well. By Ali Krogman alison-krogman@uiowa.edu An Iowa City group is proving board games are not a thing of the past. Chad Johnson took over the group “bored and...
  • Wishing upon a star

    - Oct 26, 2015
    Students, community members gather to grant wishes. By Megan Sanchez megan-sanchez@uiowa.edu As the leaves fell and the cool autumn breeze made its way through Iowa City on Oct. 24, one campus group was walking through Lower...
  • Police briefs

    - Oct 26, 2015
    Man accused of criminal mischief Authorities have accused an Iowa City man of damaging a person’s vehicle. Gregory Grunewald, 20, was charged with second-degree criminal mischief on Oct. 24. According to online court documents, Grunewald went...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links