News

  • Wage gap persists at UI

    - Apr 14, 2016
    Gender pay gap at the UI results in mixed opinions from school officials. By Anis Shakirah Mohd Muslimin anisshakirah-mohdmuslimin@uiowa.edu Despite being the first state university in America to admit men and women on an equal basis,...
  • Iowa City tries to aid Rose Oaks tenants

    - Apr 14, 2016
    Iowa City is helping the Shelter House provide housing for Rose Oaks tenants in need. By Katelyn Weisbrod katelyn-weisbrod@uiowa.edu After much confusion and frustration, Iowa City has provided $15,000 to assist a local charity in providing...
  • Staff Council set for change

    - Apr 14, 2016
    Executive committee members’ tenures near end, and they reflect on strides made this year. By Kendrew Panyanouvong kpanyanouvong@uiowa.edu As tenures for current members of the executive committee of the University of Iowa Staff Council are nearing...
  • County studies wage increase

    - Apr 14, 2016
    By Gage Miskimen gage-miskimen@uiowa.edu A new committee in charge of the new local minimum-wage ordinance met to layout future plans. The Johnson County Board of Supervisors held a joint meeting with the appointed Minimum Wage Advisory...
  • Mann goes to the dog

    - Apr 14, 2016
    By Madeline Murphy Smith madeline-m-smith@uiowa.edu A four-legged student has enrolled at Mann Elementary. Sidda, a 12-year-old golden retriever, is the newest addition to Mann. She is the only certified therapy dog to make a regular appearance...
  • 12 charged with prostitution

    - Apr 14, 2016
    Twelve people have been charged with prostitution/human trafficking Tuesday as part of an on going investigation by several local and statewide law-enforcement agencies. In partnership with the Law Enforcement Intelligence Network, surveillance and undercover officers were...
  • The Daily Break (04/14/16)

    - Apr 13, 2016
    HOROSCOPES ARIES (March 21-April 19): An observation you make will encourage you to make an appealing change to your image. Your new look will give you a professional advantage and will also help to boost your...
  • UI drinking arrests seem to drop

    - Apr 13, 2016
    By Anna Onstad-Hargrave  |  anna-onstad-hargrave@uiowa.edu Despite being the No. 2 party school in the United States, alcohol arrests at the University of Iowa have decreased by 43 percent, and officials are attributing the decrease to a...
  • Dems get testy in 1st District

    - Apr 13, 2016
    By Mitch McAndrew   |   mmcandrew@uiowa.edu Democrats Monica Vernon and Pat Murphy may have some explaining to do tonight. The two candidates, who will face off in the June 7 primary in hopes of retaking...
  • Group moves against ‘conversion’

    - Apr 13, 2016
    By Kaylyn Kluck kaylyn-kluck@uiowa.edu LGBT conversion therapy practices are about to go under the scrutiny of the Iowa Board of Medicine. A petition that was brought forward by the State of Iowa Youth Advisory Council to...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links