Metro

  • Coming through Autism

    - Apr 28, 2017
    Acceptance, not only awareness, is important in reaching out to the autism community. By Kasra Zarei kasra-zarei@uiowa.edu When the new orange-haired “Sesame Street” character Julia was introduced on the popular children’s show last month, it was...
  • Living in the Holocaust, then living

    - Apr 28, 2017
     By Madeleine Neal  madeleine-neal@uiowa.edu The footsteps of two policemen rang through the ghetto’s floors. A Polish boy hid beneath a pile of straw beside his younger brother. “My legs were trembling,” the boy said. “I begged,...
  • New vote elects LGBTQ senator

    - Apr 28, 2017
    The initial LGBTQ constituency-senator election was not in conjunction with the rules that the Queer Roundtable had established, so another vote was needed. By Elianna Novitch  elianna-novitch@uiowa.edu The initial LGBTQIA+ constituency-senator-election outcome is now null because...
  • Griesbaum takes the stand, alleges discrimination

    - Apr 28, 2017
    Tracey Griesbaum, the former Iowa field-hockey coach who has been at the center of much of the discussion during Jane Meyer v. University of Iowa, took the stand Thursday in Des Moines. Griesbaum testified on her...
  • Salata lauds UI prep for career

    - Apr 28, 2017
    ‘Life with Phil’ talk features Sheri Salata and her view on philanthropy. By Jason Estrada jason-estrada@uiowa.edu University of Iowa alumna Sheri Salata inspired students during a “‘Life with Phil” talk at the Pomerant Center on Thursday,...
  • The real bookstores have their day

    - Apr 28, 2017
    Independent Bookstore Day is on Saturday. By Isabella Senno isabella-senno@uiowa.edu Independent bookstores have been part of Iowa City for decades, and on Saturday, it’s time to celebrate them on annual Independent Bookstore Day. Some have worried...
  • Dancing downtown with new twist

    - Apr 28, 2017
    Iowa dancers showcase talent in exhibition. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu University of Iowa dance students will bring a brand new tradition to an annual dance festival this upcoming weekend. The 11th Iowa Dance Festival will provide...
  • LEOPOLD CUTS WORRY AG PEOPLE

    - Apr 28, 2017
    Please support award-winning college journalism and engagement. Click here to donate....Read More
  • The Daily Break (04/28/17)

    - Apr 27, 2017
    HOROSCOPES ARIES (March 21-April 19): Gather facts, plan your strategy, and take action. You can make headway by using your experiences and applying it to turn your ideas into reality. Don’t procrastinate. Romance is encouraged. TAURUS...
  • Blotters

    - Apr 27, 2017
    Amber Arens, 20, 114 E. Fairchild St., was charged April 27 with public intoxication. Gregory Hardison, 19, E329 Currier, was charged April 26 with obstructing an officer, public intoxication, and tampering with a motor vehicle. Javier...