80 Hours

  • Punk theater against idiocy

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Forget yellow brick roads and star-crossed lovers. There’s only a gritty city, ass-kicking attitude, and a throat-tearing score in this theater. American Idiot, a theatrical adaption of the Green Day Grammy-winning album,...
  • Good Will hunting zombies

    - Oct 14, 2015
    By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The year is 1599. Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre has just been completed, and the playwright’s latest masterpiece, Henry V, is about to open. But while Shakespeare and his company are busy fending off...
  • Snow job training

    - Oct 14, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney  jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu  Winter is coming. It’s only October, but Iowa natives know what’s heading this way. Temperatures 30 below zero and 6 inches of snow are as standard to Midwesterners as Christmas cookies and...
  • Schipper’s long shot pays off

    - Oct 14, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu Sebastian Schipper’s new drama, Victoria — opening Oct. 23at FilmScene, 118 E. College St. — is a true tour de force from both a director’s and an actor’s standpoint. The film, shot in...
  • Moving past Soundcloud

    - Oct 14, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu The self-proclaimed “hottest from since Muhammad Ali,” Bryson Tiller, released his debut album Trapsoul as an Apple Music-exclusive late last month after an exciting and timely ascent to fame on the Soundcloud...
  • Still life alive & well

    - Oct 14, 2015
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Steve Levin is unwilling to be confined by conventions. His artwork, begging for a second and even third look, can’t be boiled down to a “terse explanation.” Levin, a professor of art...
  • Ukulele you, and tiptoe through the tulips

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu For a man who has won praise from Rolling Stone, gained international recognition, and put down tracks in countries from the UK to Japan, Jake Shimabukuro is remarkably easy to talk to....
  • Business as work of art

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu A light pink background is filled with a Yin Yang, Pi symbol, arrows, hearts, pound signs, and other oddities around a central phrase: “Rad as Hell and Broke as $h*t.” “ is...
  • Big Brother loves you

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Gracey Murphy gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu Six people in matching clothing stand in a line. They are identical in garb, nothing distinct about any. With a tyrannical government, all individuality has been crushed for these characters. 1984, a...
  • Drink of the week: Kelly’s Gasoline

    - Oct 15, 2015
      With the cool air of fall taking over, there is definitely no drink that will warm you up more than Kelly’s Gasoline. Be warned, this drink is not for the faint of heart. Experience: This...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links