80 Hours

  • Comedians to flood Iowa City for Green Gravel Comedy Festival

    - Mar 3, 2016
    Dozens of comedians will flood downtown Iowa City this weekend for the Green Gravel Comedy Festival. By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu How many comedians does it take to screw in a light bulb? Not a clue. But...
  • Halfloves to perform at the Englert

    - Mar 3, 2016
    Halfloves will present songs from its new album on the Englert’s stage at 8 p.m. Friday. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu New year, new album, new name. At 8 p.m. Friday, Halfloves, formerly known as the Olympics,...
  • Indie/emo band Foxing to perform at Gabe’s

    - Mar 3, 2016
    Indie/emo band Foxing will perform at Gabe’s Saturday night. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu Once pure white with crisp edges, age has creased and browned the paper, deteriorating it slowly. It’s a process known as foxing. It’s...
  • Lit Picks

    - Mar 3, 2016
    A Wild Swan and Other Tales, by Michael Cunningham Michael Cunningham, a 1980 graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, will be giving two presentations this week, a Q&A Friday afternoon in the Dey House and a...
  • Review: The 1975’s ‘I like it when you sleep…’

    - Mar 3, 2016
    The 1975’s  I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it is an ambitious effort dragged down by excess and identity crisis. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The cliché dictates...
  • Nachte Raho returns to UI

    - Mar 4, 2016
    By Corey Simmons corey-simmons@uiowa.edu One of the biggest college dance competitions will come to town this weekend. Nachte Raho, hosted by the University of Iowa Indian Student Alliance, will be held on March 5 in the...
  • Coffee brews up a film

    - Mar 4, 2016
    With Monday’s annual culinary competition in the rearview mirror, Iowa City’s coffeehouses will renounce rivalries and join together with FilmScene on March 6 to celebrate the city’s impressive coffee culture. The event will feature coffee and...
  • ‘Gidion’s Knot’ set for stage this weekend

    - Mar 3, 2016
    Dreamwell’s new production of *Gidion’s Knot* shows the aftermath of a young boy’s suicide. By Gracey Murphy gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu Parent-teacher conferences: Children’s best or worst efforts will reach the ears of their mothers and fathers. However, Gidion’s...
  • Snapping back to having fun

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Old Dominion will perform this evening in the IMU Main Lounge. By Grace Pateras  |  grace-pateras@uiowa.edu “Break Up with Him” and “Snapback” have been blasting through car stereos the past few months, and now listeners can...
  • Sepehr Sadrzadeh of Pullman snags IC Top Chef title

    - Mar 2, 2016
    Pullman Bar & Diner’s Sepehr Sadrzadeh took home the title of Iowa City’s Top Chef at Monday’s annual competition. By Tessa Solomon | tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu   The dumplings have been devoured, cocktails drained, and votes cast. Both...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links