80 Hours

  • When the inner world breaks open

    - Jan 20, 2016
    Author Bette Adriaanse will discuss her début novel at 7 p.m.  today at Prairie Lights. By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu Rus has never had to leave his home, save to get coffee. Bette Adriaanse, Rus’ creator, traveled...
  • Writing & snapping back at trolls

    - Jan 19, 2016
    By Cassandra Santiago cassandra-santiago@uiowa.edu @sherbet_fries During her senior year at Howard University, Jamilah Lemieux started the blog the Beautiful Struggler. The goal was not national attention, avid online followers, or a stuffed bank account. She wanted...
  • Finding the geography of belonging

    - Dec 17, 2015
    Hoda Kotb, a cohost of the fourth hour of the ‘Today Show,’ will have a book bursting with inspiration published next month. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Hoda Kotb’s Where We Belong tells the story of six...
  • Holidays on silver screen

    - Dec 17, 2015
    For holiday movies, is it out with the old, in with the new? Or are the golden oldies classics for a reason? By Gracey Murphy gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu It’s the most wonderful time of the year. It’s also...
  • Mush life

    - Dec 17, 2015
    Committing to a new television show can be a daunting prospect. Here’s some guidance. By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu With a week of finals over and a month off from classes, there’s bound to be time over...
  • Laughter, with some psychedelics

    - Dec 17, 2015
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu From the moment he first heard the phrase “standup comic” uttered from his friend’s lips when he was 10, Shane Mauss has wanted to be a comedian. “I didn’t know what that...
  • Being game about hibernation

    - Dec 17, 2015
    A look ahead at the video games being released over winter break. By Jordan Ryder  jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu Odds are, most of us are going to spend time over break with the games we were unable to give...
  • Saturday, they prance

    - Dec 17, 2015
    Didn’t make it to the Englert’s Nutcracker? Don’t worry, the holiday season has more ballet to offer. On Saturday, the University of Iowa Youth Ballet and School of Dance will perform the Winter Concert at 7:30...
  • Life after finals (there is a bit)

    - Dec 17, 2015
    You’ve finally finished finals. Now what? By Jasmine Putney  jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu Their eyes are dead and bloodshot. Their clothes are disheveled, looking war-torn. They cling to their food supply with irrational protectiveness. They trudge around in a...
  • The Best of 2015

    - Dec 17, 2015
    By Daily Iowan Arts Staff Every year, we all vow to make it the #BestYearEver. Regardless of whether 2015 meets that mark, there is plenty to be remembered about the past 12 months. Here’s what the...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links