80 Hours

  • From Andes to alligators

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Frigid wind cuts through Ecuador’s Mount Chimborazo, but Baltazar Ushca has learned to live with the cold. He swings his pickaxe into the base of the glacier, shattering the ice like glass....
  • Improvising a night

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu When improvising, there are no meticulously measured setups or practiced punch lines. Performers have only their wits, the support of their team, and an infinity of decisions. The IMU will provide the...
  • Celebrating Latino culture

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Cassandra Santiago cassandra-santiago@uiowa.edu One-two to the left. One-two to the right. Don’t forget to move the hips, slow or fast, but to the beat. Now, that’s how you dance bachata. Bachata is only one of...
  • Love & Che

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu A chainsaw, some roller skates, and a human that turns into a bird are coming together tonight. Love Me Tender, Che Guevara, written and directed by University of Iowa undergraduates, opens at...
  • Drink of the week: Watermelon Peach Sangria

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Watermelon, strawberries, oranges, peaches, apples, peach nectar, and sugar mixed with white wine, brandy, and peach schnapps. Experience: For the sake of full disclosure, I did not measure the fruit precisely and threw in a wider...
  • A crystal city

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu Local folk/Americana group Crystal City will headline a show at 10 p.m. Friday at the Mill, 120 E. Burlington St. Acoustic-folk rocker Dan Tedesco and indie duo Field Division will support the...
  • Out from under the Taliban

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Homeria Qaderi talks about her experiences with the Taliban in Afghanistan. (Audio compiled by Claire Dietz and edited by Lily Abromeit) By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Homeira Qaderi waited six years before returning to school after the Taliban...
  • Real cancer, real story

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney  jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu  Cancer stories are often depicted as tragic in Hollywood film and best-selling novels. However, more than 80 percent of audiences have calledWhen Cancer Calls uplifting, says physician Wayne Beach. The reason, he...
  • Dominican Moro de Habichuelas Negras

    - Oct 8, 2015
    Never doubt the power of vegetables.  Dominican moro relies on the flavorful punch of several veggies. Moro isn’t unique to the Dominican culture, but the ways of cooking it differ; Cubans use more water and veggies,...
  • A space to write

    - Oct 8, 2015
    By Jordan ryder jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu Undergraduate students coming to the University of Iowa with a desire to write run into a problem: Outside of basic workshop classes, there aren’t many places to go and share writing and...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links