80 Hours

  • Once upon a time in an airport

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Cassandra Santiago cassandra-santiago@uiowa.edu One airport. One dying man. Seven characters. And too many unlikely links to one another. The Queue, a dance-theater performance, transforms the passive act of waiting in an airport into an artistically...
  • A different art class

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu Matt Ribakow grew up in Maryland, went to college in California, and settled in Iowa City to build a family with his wife. Ribakow and wife Dori own Brush and Barrel, a...
  • DRINK OF THE WEEK

    - Sep 17, 2015
    ORANGE MOSCATO SANGRIA Belle Sera Moscato mixed with Cointreau. The drink came served in a tall white wine glass, contrasted by a typical clear plastic straw. The diced strawberries on top were a nice touch. EXPERIENCE:...
  • Public Library welcomes music school move

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The Iowa City Public Library, 123 S. Linn St., will kick off Music is the Word, nine months of special programming, on Sept. 20 with a musical revue at the Englert Theater, 221...
  • Despite glitches, Pain is good

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Jordan Ryder jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu 9.5 out of 10 I crouched behind a boulder, hoping the soldier would keep walking rather than investigate the shadow he saw as I took cover. The wind started whipping up, flinging...
  • A marriage of art

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Screenings, readings, and now a wedding. Public Space One, 120 N. Dubuque St., has seen it all. Fabrics, paints, and patterns have been united in the gallery’s upcoming installation Arranged Marriage. An...
  • Really Company

    - Sep 17, 2015
    Company will be performed at 7:30 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Coralville Center for the Performing Arts, 1301 Fifth St. The Stephen Sondheim musical follows the story of Robert, a bachelor on the night of his 35th birthday. His friends...
  • Magical collisions of words, theater

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu Shred the script. Dim the lights. Erase the preconceptions that constrain the endless possibilities of theater. The liveliness of performing-arts teams up with the elegance of the written word at 8 p.m....
  • Traveling into art

    - Sep 17, 2015
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Keith Achepohl has been an artist since he can remember. Seventy of those years have been spent not only making art but also traveling the Mediterranean. Achepohl, a University of Iowa professor...
  • Of a funeral and family secrets

    - Sep 17, 2015
    The film Tom at the Farm, by Xavier Dolan, a 26-year-old upstart director, festival darling, and Cannes favorite, will head to FilmScene, 118 E. College St., for a one-night-only screening at 11 p.m. Saturday. The director —...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links