80 Hours

  • Life after finals (there is a bit)

    - Dec 17, 2015
    You’ve finally finished finals. Now what? By Jasmine Putney  jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu Their eyes are dead and bloodshot. Their clothes are disheveled, looking war-torn. They cling to their food supply with irrational protectiveness. They trudge around in a...
  • The Best of 2015

    - Dec 17, 2015
    By Daily Iowan Arts Staff Every year, we all vow to make it the #BestYearEver. Regardless of whether 2015 meets that mark, there is plenty to be remembered about the past 12 months. Here’s what the...
  • Camaraderie in disillusionment

    - Dec 14, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu As students flock to the library in preparation of this week’s exams, we see the rare instance in which the university’s study spaces attract more visitors than Iowa City’s bars, even on...
  • Dancing into memory

    - Dec 10, 2015
    By Claire Dietz  |  claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Three dancers relax and chat in Thai — almost as though someone simply forgot to close the curtain after their performance — underneath a screen declaring, “It’s OK to not know...
  • Not shying back in Chi-Raq

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Spike Lee’s Chi-Raq, a modernized telling of Lysistrata, will open at FilmScene on Friday. By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu Spike Lee’s Chi-Raq, a modern-day adaptation of Lysistrata as a reimagining of Aristophanes’ classic Greek play on the gang-infested...
  • Through the sunset, at home


    - Dec 10, 2015
    After a four-year absence, the Theater Department’s Undergraduate Director Festival returns with plays from four directors. By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu In the boiling seconds of a dramatic moment, when an actor pulls audience members to the...
  • Begging goes musical

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Charles Dickens’ iconic novel comes to the stage in City Circle’s production of Oliver. By Gracey Murphy gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu Seventy strangers crowd a busy London crossing in Victorian street urchin attire. A large, ominous bridge lurks overhead...
  • Tickling the keyboard

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Iowa’s Laptop Orchestra will play the computer keyboard rather than the piano keys. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu An orchestra, for most, conjures thoughts of bellowing brass, whispering woodwinds, sonorous strings, and powerful percussion. Many people probably...
  • The Final Countdown

    - Dec 10, 2015
       It is that point of the year. You are scrambling to study for finals. You are finishing up the last week of classes — and if you are anything like me, you are trying to...
  • ’Tis the season to be munching

    - Dec 10, 2015
    Relieve some holiday stress with these delicious potluck-ready treats. By Jasmine Putney jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu Though December is characteristically full of festive cheer, the holiday season can bring ample amounts of pressure. Finding the right gift for that...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links