80 Hours

  • Video game review: Dark Souls III

    - Apr 21, 2016
    From Software’s new game Dark Souls III sticks to its strengths while updating features. By Jordan Ryder jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu Not many games make me yell at the screen or cheer when I win. Through virtue of a...
  • Lit Clips

    - Apr 21, 2016
    CITY OF LITERATURE The Weight of Shadows by José Orduña At just 2 years old, José Orduña and his family immigrated to Chicago from their native Cordoba, Veracruz. Years later, Orduña went on to graduate from the University...
  • ‘Survivor Art Installation’ works to end myth about sexual assault

    - Apr 21, 2016
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu “Well, what were you wearing?” should never be words a rape survivor hears. The Rape Victim Advocacy Program aims to dispel the myth clothing mean a person “deserved it.” The Survivor Art...
  • Tilling the musical loam

    - Apr 20, 2016
    Old-time string band the Tillers will play at 8 p.m. today at the Mill. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu Music can manipulate moods, increase productivity, or even provide a glimpse of days long past.    Old-time string...
  • Not shy, Rihanna amazes crowd in Chi

    - Apr 20, 2016
    Rihanna brought the ANTI world tour to her friends in Chicago. By Mario Williams mario-williams@uiowa.edu As the credits rolled through everyone involved in the “ANTI World Tour” and the instrumental version of Rihanna’s “Higher” played, I...
  • Daya finally heads to Blue Moose

    - Apr 19, 2016
    By Alex Kramer alexandria-kramer@uiowa.edu April is the new February for everyone who bought tickets to see Daya in Iowa City. After canceling her Feb. 25 performance for health reasons, Daya will bring her enticing pop voice and catchy...
  • Writer Elizabeth Crane to speak at Prairie Lights tomorrow night

    - Apr 18, 2016
    By Alex Kramer Alexandria-kramer@uiowa.edu Short stories and novels come together in a symphonic blend of humor and realism when Elizabeth Crane pens words. Her infectious laughter, bubbling up with even the slightest provocation, will make readers...
  • Reality in 24 frames per second: ‘Krisha’ review

    - Apr 15, 2016
    Krisha, based on real events and starring the director’s family, excels where so many other movies fail. By Girindra Selleck Girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu Trey Edward Shults’s directorial début Krisha sees the filmmaker positioning his own family at the...
  • Disorderly House: Notes, literally, from Underground

    - Apr 14, 2016
    This project, “Disorderly House,” takes a look into the underground punk-music scene hidden in Iowa City basements. To view all the photos, click here. By Jordan Gale | jordan-gale@uiowa.edu | @gordanjale Hissing amplifiers fill a dark, damp,...
  • Trespassing into being: ‘Of Being and Seeing’ to showcase MFA dance theses

    - Apr 14, 2016
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu An oblivion of black fades to a stage of mist, lit by shifting lights opening behind five dancers. They are slow to enter this new expanse, hesitant. Electric growls warn them away,...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links