80 Hours

  • Fashion, culture with a bite

    - May 4, 2017
    By Hannah Crooks hannah-crooks@uiowa.edu The Flyover Fashion Fest is back Friday and Saturday, and in light of the 2016 election and the current sociocultural landscape, the festival, now in its second year is more politically charged...
  • Turns out, there is Rimes and reason

    - May 4, 2017
    By Levi Wright levi-wright@uiowa.edu On May 7, two-time Grammy Award winner singer/songwriter LeAnn Rimes will appear at the Englert Theater for what is bound to be a night to remember. Since the 1912 opening of the...
  • Art colony wraps with geo-engineering

    - May 4, 2017
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Grant Wood has a legacy in Iowa City, as a former art professor at the University of Iowa and a veritable icon of the American art movement in the last century. Now,...
  • The beautiful game as safety, as joy, as life

    - May 4, 2017
    By Brett Shaw  brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu For many fanatics, sports are much more than a simple game to be played. A performance piece coming to Iowa City takes this enthusiasm another step further by connecting soccer to the...
  • Mysterious loves, a lost son, and swords

    - Apr 27, 2017
    The Theater Department’s annual New Play Festival Kicks off May 1st, with productions tackling a diverse array of themes ranging from loss and marginalization to the timeless influence of Henrik Ibsen. By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu The...
  • Whose improv is it, anyway?

    - Apr 27, 2017
    By Claire Dietz  claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Finding someone who doesn’t enjoy games may be a challenge. But finding someone who wants to play games involving being funny, on stage, live, in front of hundreds of people is no...
  • Finding James Baldwin in lyrics and rhythm

    - Apr 27, 2017
    By Austin Henderson  austin-henderson@uiowa.edu Today, Prairie Lights will feature author Ed Pavlic in the latest edition of its famed reading series, “Live from Prairie Lights.” In the 7 p.m. reading, he will read from his 2015...
  • ‘Buffy’ buff in a magical world

    - Apr 27, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” is as old as I am, both of us originating in 1997. Although I did not start watching the show until many years after its final season, its...
  • Found in translation

    - Apr 27, 2017
    The Translate Iowa Project releases its first publication. By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu Although founded only a little more than a year ago, the Translate Iowa Project is achieving great success. One of the university’s newest student...
  • Small film goes quirkily colossal

    - Apr 27, 2017
    By Hannah Crooks hannah-crooks@uiowa.edu The newest monster movie is here, and it resides far away from clichés and stereotypes. Colossal, directed by Nacho Vigalondo, merges comedy, sci-fi, and horror in a film that is absolutely one...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links