Music

  • Intimate music for his ‘friends’

    - Nov 13, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu The enormous but rarely noticed neo-Gothic chandeliers hanging from the ceiling of the IMU Main Lounge looked as though they could have been part of Iron & Wine’s set on Wednesday, but...
  • ‘Beesting’ intelligence

    - Nov 11, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu On Tuesday night, one of the world’s most creative minds graced the University of I owa campus. If you haven’t heard of Theo Jansen yet, it is about time that you do. Jansen...
  • Don’t vegetate, live & grow

    - Nov 11, 2015
    By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu Tonight, California rapper Casey Veggies will visit Iowa City to promote his new album, Live & Grow. While he’s on tour around the country, his hit single “Tied Up” can be heard...
  • Space-folk in the atmosphere

    - Oct 29, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu Fresh off the release of her new album, Lieberman, Vanessa Carlton will perform at the Englert Theater, 221 E. Washington St., at 7 p.m. on Nov. 1. Although you may know her for the ubiquitous...
  • Mozart, à la Da-Da-Dee-Dum

    - Oct 22, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu From the balcony seat, two figures are visible on stage. One raises his violin, the other perches at his piano. Eyelids prepare to droop. Suddenly, the pianist rips a leg off his...
  • Ukulele you, and tiptoe through the tulips

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu For a man who has won praise from Rolling Stone, gained international recognition, and put down tracks in countries from the UK to Japan, Jake Shimabukuro is remarkably easy to talk to....
  • CHVRCHES is in session

    - Oct 12, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-Selleck@uiowa.edu It was a big Homecoming weekend in Iowa City. The Oct. 10 win over Illinois brought Hawkeye football to a best-in-years national ranking of No. 17 in the AP poll, an historic,...
  • Bringin’ it all back home

    - Oct 1, 2015
    By Adam Buhck     adam-buhck@uiowa.edu Trendy pop singles, electronica, and hip-hop dominate the charts every week. Rock and roll, it seems, has taken a back seat. But Long Island collective Wake the Sun is out to prove...
  • China to amaze audiences 

    - Oct 1, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney  jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu  Too often textbooks and homework are seen as the only tools in learning. However, a stage filled with music and magic can be just as educational as a classroom. At 7 p.m. Friday, the...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links