Music

  • Twin City’s indie darlings make their way to Iowa City

    - Jun 16, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu   After high-school graduation in 2013, four teenagers from St. Paul, Minnesota, left their hometown, not for college, but for the stage. Three years, two EPs, and countless shows later, the band...
  • Disorderly House: Notes, literally, from Underground

    - Apr 14, 2016
    This project, “Disorderly House,” takes a look into the underground punk-music scene hidden in Iowa City basements. To view all the photos, click here. By Jordan Gale | jordan-gale@uiowa.edu | @gordanjale Hissing amplifiers fill a dark, damp,...
  • Recap: Pure Bathing Culture at Yacht Club for Mission Creek

    - Apr 9, 2016
    By Justus Flair | justus-flair@uiowa.edu The dark, underground basement vibe of Yacht Club was perfect for Pure Bathing Culture with Pillar Point and MAIDS on Friday night. Though the headliners didn’t appear until midnight, the show...
  • Recap: PHOX rocks the Mill for Mission Creek Festival

    - Apr 8, 2016
    By Justus Flair | justus-flair@uiowa.edu | @justus_flair PHOX filled the Mill on Thursday night for Mission Creek, a far cry from their performance in the venue four years ago that had, according to lead singer Monica Martin,...
  • Recap: The Joy Formidable at Englert

    - Apr 8, 2016
    By Tom Ackerman | thomas-ackerman@uiowa.edu If you haven’t seen the five-foot-something Ritzy Bryan perform, you wouldn’t have anticipated the energy her Welsh alternative rock outfit The Joy Formidable brought to the Englert Theater on Thursday night....
  • Recap: Son Lux at Gabe’s for Mission Creek

    - Apr 7, 2016
    By Girindra Selleck | girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu Son Lux’s appearance at Gabes, 330 E. Washington St., marked the band’s first performance in Iowa City, and it is sure to leave an impact. The trio hailing from Brooklyn, New York,...
  • Kembrew McLeod and Lisa Jane Persky, a match made in the underground, recreate the world of ’60s punk

    - Apr 7, 2016
    Forty 40-year-old photographs, printed on vinyl and hung by giant safety pins, cover the white walls of the Englert Theater’s second floor gallery. Black and white faces smile, smirk, and smize from the shots Lisa Jane...
  • Bringin’ it all back home

    - Jan 21, 2016
    Monolithic’s old-school rock ’n’ roll will take the stage at Gabe’s. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The golden age of rock ’n’ roll may be a distant memory obscured by time, changing circumstances, and copious amounts of...
  • Musically painting a surprise

    - Nov 19, 2015
    Eric Church released his unexpected new album, Mr. Misunderstood, on Nov. 4. By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu Country music fans: I’m sure you’ve already devoured Eric Church’s album Mr. Misunderstood, released earlier this month. If not, here’s a...
  • Words come alive at Blue Moose

    - Nov 18, 2015
    The Word Alive and the Zealots will perform at Blue Moose on Saturday. By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The word is alive and it’s at Blue Moose. Metalcore outfit the Word Alive will bring the roof down at...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links