Music

  • Hard-core band Knocked Loose Knocking its way into Iowa City

    - Oct 20, 2017
    On Oct. 21, Knocked Loose will bring its brand of hard-core and metal to Iowa City. By Sam Hookom samuel-hookom@uiowa.edu Coming off of its tour with metal-core giants Every Time I Die, Knocked Loose will headline...
  • World-famous violinist greets Hancher Auditorium

    - Oct 19, 2017
    Joshua Bell, a world-renown classical violinist, will take to Hancher’s stage on Oct. 20 at 7:30 p.m. Bell will play sonatas by Felix Mendelssohn, Edvard Grieg, and Johannes Brahms. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu Walk into the...
  • Latin rock takes the Hancher stage

    - Oct 9, 2017
    Latin rock group La Santa Cecilia performs a show at Hancher to a full, enthusiastic house. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu On Oct. 5, La Santa Cecilia performed at Hancher to a packed house. The band had...
  • Tom Petty, Heartbreakers’ leader, dies at 66

    - Oct 3, 2017
    The Heartbreakers’ frontman had been taken off life support in a Santa Monica hospital. He died late Monday night. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu TMZ has reported that Tom Petty, the frontman of the rock band Tom...
  • Video: Jazz at Lincoln Center debuts at Hancher

    - Sep 25, 2017
    Jazz at Lincoln Center, the resident 15-member orchestra of the Fredrick P. Rose Hall in New York City, performed for the first time at Hancher Friday night, transforming the auditorium into a house of jazz. View...
  • A brief history of jazz in Iowa

    - Sep 21, 2017
    Jazz may have been born in New Orleans, but it has firmly embedded itself into the Midwest. By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu After its birth in New Orleans, jazz became well-known because of the Harlem Renaissance in...
  • Englert gets its Goats

    - Sep 20, 2017
    The Mountain Goats took on the Englert, providing a vibrant performance while promoting the group’s latest album. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu   In a pitch-black Englert on Sept. 13, the hymns of an orchestra murmured, with...
  • Brother-based duo Cactus Blossoms blooming in the Mill

    - Sep 12, 2017
    Up-and-coming, singer-songwriter brothers, The Cactus Blossoms, didn’t plan for an international tour, a TV cameo, and a critically acclaimed album. But it’s happening. By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu Minnesota brothers Page Burkum and Jack Torrey didn’t have...
  • There’s no place like the Middle of Nowhere

    - Sep 4, 2017
    The Middle of Nowhere Festival resonated with the sonorous echoes of DJs all over the city. By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Sparks flew as electronic artists illuminated Iowa City’s weekend at the first-ever Middle of Nowhere Music...
  • Middle of Nowhere Festival revitalizes music in an unlikely place

    - Aug 31, 2017
    Electronic music holds a renaissance in the middle of nowhere. By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu Iowa City will experience an electrifying renaissance of art and history this weekend. Decades ago, when James Van Allen helped create one...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links