Events

  • Holiday Thieves’ Market wrapped up by UI Fine Arts Council

    - Nov 30, 2017
    The annual Holiday Thieves’ Market will take place this weekend, with Midwestern artists speaking of their experience with the event. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Holiday shopping is being made easier for students with a market in...
  • Not outside the box, no boxes

    - Nov 30, 2017
    Point.0 combines different art forms to achieve a performance with different artistic expressions. By Rhiana Chickering rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu This weekend, audiences will have the opportunity to be captivated by a performance that encompasses diverse artistic expressions. Graduate...
  • Writers’ Workshop grads read at Prairie Lights

    - Nov 30, 2017
    Alessandra Lynch and Michael Tyrell, graduates of the Writers’ Workshop, will read from their new poetry at Prairie Lights. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu Poets seem to be flocking to Iowa City like birds lately, but what...
  • Blanchard, E-Collective roll into Hancher

    - Nov 28, 2017
    Terence Blanchard and his band, the E-Collective, will shine in Hancher’s spotlight. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu Terence Blanchard, a Grammy-Award winner on trumpet, and his band, the E-Collective, have created a groove-infused R&B album titled Breathless....
  • Super-universal and everyday, in green

    - Nov 16, 2017
    Agnes in Green focuses on a transgender male who struggles with his parents bickering, has a crush on his best friend, and worries about how he will afford college. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu A stage filled to the...
  • Chase Garrett’s Piano Stomp Festival plays the Englert

    - Nov 16, 2017
    The eighth-annual Blues and Boogie-Woogie Piano Stomp performs to a packed house. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu Downtown Iowa City was filled with the sounds of blues and boogie-woogie on Nov. 10 at the Englert, 221 E....
  • A band of voices, reimagined

    - Nov 16, 2017
    Roomful of Teeth reimagines the human voice by pushing the boundaries of vocal music. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu Founder and artistic director of Roomful of Teeth Brad Wells set out to reimagine the human voice through...
  • Award-winning orchestra presents ‘The Blue Hour’

    - Nov 16, 2017
    A Far Cry, with its unique dynamic in music, brings its latest project to Iowa City. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Hailing from Boston, chamber orchestra A Far Cry operates as an “artistic wheel.” While all of...
  • Life on an Iowa farm during WWII

    - Nov 15, 2017
    Iowa City resident Ethel Barker will read her latest book of historical fiction, The Andersens of Eden, at Prairie Lights today at 7 p.m. The book details life of a family changed because of the Pearl...
  • UI a cappella groups unite for passionate performance

    - Nov 14, 2017
    The University of Iowa’s four a cappella groups — UI Old Gold, Iowa Agni, Intersection, and Iowa Hawkapellas — come together for a special performance. By Brooklyn Draisey brooklyn-draisey@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa’s a cappella groups...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links