Events

  • Resmaa Menakem to read at Prairie Lights in the universe of the healing

    - Nov 14, 2017
    Resmaa Menakem will read from his book, My Grandmother’s Hands, at Prairie Lights at 7 p.m. today. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu Trauma can be a hard word to define. It could mean experiencing combat, being abused physically...
  • Digital media takes the stage at Dance Gala 2017

    - Nov 13, 2017
    During Dance Gala 2017, the UI Dance Department integrated digital media in its piece, “Kansas No More,” bringing the dancers in and out of different worlds. By Rhiana Chickering Rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu This past weekend, audiences experienced both digital...
  • Artists speak out to break silence about sexual assault

    - Nov 11, 2017
    Sexual-assault survivors spoke out about their experiences in an event hosted by UI students titled “Now that we’re loud: Survivors Speak.” By Sarah Watson Sarah-e-watson@uiowa.edu Survivors of sexual assault refused to keep their stories quiet on...
  • Dance Gala sashays into Hancher

    - Nov 9, 2017
    The Dance Department’s Dance Gala is a diverse and vibrant set of compositions that produces a multitude of dance styles and meanings. By Rhiana Chickering rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu Barragán’s piece, “Interior Solitude,” is based on the life of Camille...
  • Dybbuk of Dachau takes a supernatural twist

    - Nov 9, 2017
    The Dybbuk of Dachau follows the trail of Yael Bat-Gidon and son Asher as they struggle to survive the horrors of a concentration camp. One day, the two are met by the spirit Dvora, Yael’s dead...
  • Boogie-Woogie Stomp enters eighth year

    - Nov 9, 2017
    Chase Garrett presents his Eighth-Annual Blues and Boogie-Woogie Piano Stomp Festival at the Englert. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu To many residents of Iowa City, music is an integral part of life. Many musicians crowd the busy...
  • Grant Wood Docudrama opens at Cedar Rapids Art Museum

    - Nov 9, 2017
    Excerpt from the docudrama The Wood Problem will be performed at the Cedar Rapids Art Museum, followed by a panel discussion. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu When the phrase “American Gothic” comes to mind, most people think...
  • Hancher experiences a taste of Italy

    - Nov 9, 2017
    Hancher hosts Culinary Arts Experience for the second year, spotlighting a local Italian restaurant. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu A fire ignites inside a small kitchen buried deep in Baroncini Ristorante Italiano, the heat is sweltering, and...
  • Deborah Eisenberg to read at the Writers’ Workshop

    - Nov 9, 2017
    Five-time O. Henry short-story winner Deborah Eisenberg will read from an unpublished work at the Dey House tonight. By Tong Tong tong-tong@uiowa.edu Deborah Eisenberg’s life has undergone a number of radical changes. Once an actress, then...
  • Researcher and writer delves into the Russian Revolution

    - Nov 7, 2017
    No. 1 New York Times bestselling writer Janet Fitch will read from her new historical novel at the Iowa City Public Library. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu The historical novel The Revolution of Marina M., by Janet...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links