Events

  • Jazz as a pearl, Wynton as a diamond

    - Sep 21, 2017
    Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis is coming to Hancher By Tong Tong tong-tong@uiowa.edu The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis is going to give Iowa City an opportunity to see what...
  • Mooring play will discuss the search for gender, manipulation, & church and its intersections

    - Sep 21, 2017
    The UI Theater Department will present Mooring, a play about transgender twins coming to terms with their father’s suicide and his manipulation. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa Theater Department is known for putting...
  • Gladstone takes aim at ‘fake news’

    - Sep 21, 2017
    Fake news has garnered a huge amount of negative press in the last year, and a famous New York journalist will visit Iowa City to look beyond the headlines. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu News junkies turned...
  • Elliott opens eyes of all kinds at Englert

    - Sep 19, 2017
    Jane Elliott, best known for her ‘Blue Eyes- Brown Eyes’ exercise spoke Monday night at the Englert as a part of the Green Room Series. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Jane Elliott can make a room laugh....
  • 1884, the year Iowa City rioted over beer

    - Sep 14, 2017
    In 1884, Iowa banned all alcohol. The German Beer Mafia of Iowa City was not happy. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Carroll Zuber was traveling in Germany, when he had an idea: bring microbrewing to Iowa. In 1975,...
  • BrewNost brings international beers to Iowa

    - Sep 14, 2017
    National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library will celebrate its 14th BrewNost with brewers and beer from all over the world. By Levi Wright levi-wright@uiowa.edu Few things compare with the sweet roasted flavor of a dark...
  • 80 Hours calendar (09/14/17)

    - Sep 14, 2017
    Please support award-winning college journalism and engagement. Click here to donate....Read More
  • On the wings of literature, culture

    - Sep 14, 2017
    An Iraqi poet and International Writing Program resident breaks through silence and writes her way to Iowa City and environs. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu As the oldest and largest multinational writing residency in the world, the...
  • Coffins come alive, art in the afterlife

    - Sep 14, 2017
    Ghanaian artist Eric Adjetey Anang will display his Fantasy Coffins on Saturday from noon-5 p.m. The IMU Black Box Theater will host his six coffins. Anang is also an artist in residence this semester. By Madison...
  • Brother-based duo Cactus Blossoms blooming in the Mill

    - Sep 12, 2017
    Up-and-coming, singer-songwriter brothers, The Cactus Blossoms, didn’t plan for an international tour, a TV cameo, and a critically acclaimed album. But it’s happening. By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu Minnesota brothers Page Burkum and Jack Torrey didn’t have...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links