Events

  • Twin City’s indie darlings make their way to Iowa City

    - Jun 16, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu   After high-school graduation in 2013, four teenagers from St. Paul, Minnesota, left their hometown, not for college, but for the stage. Three years, two EPs, and countless shows later, the band...
  • Shakespeare at sea opens Riverside in the Park

    - Jun 16, 2016
    Riverside Theater’s Festival Stage production of Pericles opens Friday. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Dennis William Grimes keeps a notebook in his backpack alongside his heavily annotated copy of Shakespeare’s Pericles. In it he details how many...
  • Becoming the ‘Pumpkin of Horror’

    - Jun 14, 2016
    Stephen King graces Englert stage Monday night   By: Gracey Murphy Gracey-murphy@uiowa.edu @graceyelyssa   IOWA CITY, IA — Hundreds of horror fans clap uproariously as Stephen King strides onto the illuminated stage of the Englert. King,...
  • Writer Elizabeth Crane to speak at Prairie Lights tomorrow night

    - Apr 18, 2016
    By Alex Kramer Alexandria-kramer@uiowa.edu Short stories and novels come together in a symphonic blend of humor and realism when Elizabeth Crane pens words. Her infectious laughter, bubbling up with even the slightest provocation, will make readers...
  • Beyond Masculin/Féminin

    - Oct 22, 2015
    By Devyn Young devyn-young@uiowa.edu Viewer understands the performance shall not be viewed as a male or with a masculine perspective. Viewer shall view the performance solely as a woman. Sign Here: _________________________ Before attending Feminaal in the...
  • Pipe of a different color

    - Oct 22, 2015
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu King Arthur, a noble king of legend known for his purity and losing Guinevere to the knight Lancelot, has been the subject of centuries of epic tales, poems, and film. But this...
  • Punk theater against idiocy

    - Oct 15, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Forget yellow brick roads and star-crossed lovers. There’s only a gritty city, ass-kicking attitude, and a throat-tearing score in this theater. American Idiot, a theatrical adaption of the Green Day Grammy-winning album,...
  • Diveristy Fest bids adieu

    - Oct 1, 2015
    By Cassandra Santiago  cassandra-santiago@uiowa.edu  For the last 25 years, Iowa City has received a tour around the world without having to travel very far. Food, music, crafts, and educational stations brought to life traditions of the...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links