Events

  • Cho’s radical brand of comedy burns brightly at Mission Creek

    - Apr 7, 2017
    By Brett Shaw Brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu Strutting onto the Englert stage in a Christmas sweater, pajama shorts, torn leggings, and boots, Margaret Cho exhibited absolute fearlessness before delivering her opening bit about Donald Trump’s exotic sex life. Cho...
  • Tennis, with love, set to play Mission Creek

    - Apr 7, 2017
    By Austin Henderson austin-henderson@uiowa.edu Indie-rock darlings Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley performed as Tennis at 7 p.m. April 7th at the classic Iowa City venue Gabe’s alongside rising local act the Port Authority. Gracing a stage...
  • Mykki Blanco lights up the Blue Moose

    - Apr 7, 2017
    By Brett Shaw Brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu Hanging from the rafters, throwing trash cans, whipping a tutu in the face of her fans, Mykki Blanco’s performance at Blue Moose on April 6 was anything but typical. What could have...
  • Mission Creek Review: Ghostface Killah

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu It has been a long while since the Wu-Tang Clan has released music; however, as audience members threw up the iconic ‘W’ and chanted along to verses, it was clear that these...
  • Songbirds arrive at the Mill

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Elizabeth Moen has come a long way in a little more than a year. A soulful voice that took her to countries across Europe. Now the songbird has returned back to Iowa...
  • Electronica takes Mission Creek

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu Standing still, an appropriate distance between one another, gazes locked on the performers and moving images before them, the audience at Gabe’s on Tuesday evening absorbed the experimental electronic music concert as...
  • FilmScene Screens Oscar Shorts

    - Feb 9, 2017
    2017 Oscar-Nominated Shorts: DI’s Chosen Three By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu   There’s something to be said about a film that has a runtime of forty minutes or less and utilizes that time well, creating a well-developed...
  • Trucking into America, no sugar

    - Jan 25, 2017
    By Levi Wright levi-wright@uiowa.edu “Drive-by Truckers” fan-love for singing about real social issues without sugarcoating the truth. The controversial topics the group covers range from Donald Trump becoming president to the Trayvon Martin shooting.  The group...
  • Daily Iowan Q&A with Grammy Award-winning artist Esperanza Spalding

    - Oct 25, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu   When Esperanza Spalding’s self-titled 2008 debut was released to the public, they embraced it with delight. Her jazz — a dizzying, tri-lingual (Spanish, Portuguese, and English) fusion of Brazilian samba, soul,...
  • Zombies take over town for charity (charity?)

    - Sep 23, 2016
    By Naomi Hofferber naomi-hofferber@uiowa.edu Each fall in Iowa City, the undead come alive for one weekend to swarm the streets in a massive, demented horde — for a good cause, of course. The Iowa City Zombie...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links