Events

  • Songbirds arrive at the Mill

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Elizabeth Moen has come a long way in a little more than a year. A soulful voice that took her to countries across Europe. Now the songbird has returned back to Iowa...
  • Electronica takes Mission Creek

    - Apr 6, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu Standing still, an appropriate distance between one another, gazes locked on the performers and moving images before them, the audience at Gabe’s on Tuesday evening absorbed the experimental electronic music concert as...
  • FilmScene Screens Oscar Shorts

    - Feb 9, 2017
    2017 Oscar-Nominated Shorts: DI’s Chosen Three By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu   There’s something to be said about a film that has a runtime of forty minutes or less and utilizes that time well, creating a well-developed...
  • Trucking into America, no sugar

    - Jan 25, 2017
    By Levi Wright levi-wright@uiowa.edu “Drive-by Truckers” fan-love for singing about real social issues without sugarcoating the truth. The controversial topics the group covers range from Donald Trump becoming president to the Trayvon Martin shooting.  The group...
  • Daily Iowan Q&A with Grammy Award-winning artist Esperanza Spalding

    - Oct 25, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu   When Esperanza Spalding’s self-titled 2008 debut was released to the public, they embraced it with delight. Her jazz — a dizzying, tri-lingual (Spanish, Portuguese, and English) fusion of Brazilian samba, soul,...
  • Zombies take over town for charity (charity?)

    - Sep 23, 2016
    By Naomi Hofferber naomi-hofferber@uiowa.edu Each fall in Iowa City, the undead come alive for one weekend to swarm the streets in a massive, demented horde — for a good cause, of course. The Iowa City Zombie...
  • Is this heaven? No, it’s beer

    - Sep 22, 2016
    North Side Oktoberfest/Iowa City Brewfest will be held at Iowa City’s historic North Side Marketplace on Saturday; The Daily Iowan explores the city’s long history with beer and brewing. By Claire Dietz  claire-dietz@uiowa.edu The roots of...
  • Into and out of the invisible world

    - Sep 8, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu This week, Iowa City’s Center for Afrofuturist Studies — an ever-expanding project in its inaugural year — will welcome its September artist-in-residence, Chicago-based poet and visual artist Krista Franklin. Her interdisciplinary work...
  • Dead, dead horses couldn’t drive us away in gospel style

    - Sep 8, 2016
    By Quentin Yarolem quentin-yarolem@uiowa.edu The music of the band Dead Horses — whose members hail from Oshkosh, Wisconsin, of Oshkosh, B’Gosh fame — displays a healthy combination of gospel and folk influences. The band’s lead singer,...
  • Black and Blue

    - Sep 7, 2016
    Sean Lewis’ new play, Black and Blue, explores the subject of police brutality and opens Friday at Riverside Theatre. By Isaac Hamlet  isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu Rage is a bubbling, righteous feeling. Like a hot coal burning in your...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links