Events

  • Acclaimed printmaker Carmon Colangelo to visit Iowa

    - Oct 3, 2017
    Widely exhibited printmaker Carmon Colangelo will speak at the university’s Visual Arts Building about his highly technical and innovative artistic process. By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu When speaking with the widely exhibited Toronto-born, St. Louis-based printmaker Carmon...
  • ‘Starless Dreams’ documentary illuminates human condition

    - Oct 3, 2017
    Prolific Iranian Director, Mehrdad Oskouei, takes us into an all-female rehabilitation and correction center with Starless Dreams. These inmates tell their horrific stories of broken homes, motherhood, poverty, and death. By Josh Balicki josh-balicki@uiowa.edu A documentary...
  • Dancing through the years

    - Sep 28, 2017
    Six professional dancers from ages 48 through 66 will perform at Space Place Friday and Saturday at 8p.m. By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu Charlotte Adams’ dance “Imagining Ketchikan: Canciones del Corazon” begins in the scuffed bathtub where...
  • A bald collision of old mystics and advanced technology

    - Sep 28, 2017
    A brief introduction to Niyaz performance and the Sufi tradition in regards to Middle Eastern culture. By Tong Tong tong-tong@uiowa.edu In a collision of old and new, the electronic group Niyaz displays the beauty of ethnic...
  • 47 years of gems

    - Sep 28, 2017
    Editor of the Iowa Review, Harry Stecopoulos, will host a reading at Prairie Lights promoting the Iowa Review, featuring author Amber Dermont, poet Hai-Dang Phan, and an autistic essayist and poet D.J. Savarese. Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu Iowa...
  • Former Hamilton star Leslie Odom Jr. to perform again in Iowa city in free concert

    - Sep 28, 2017
    The former Hamilton Star will perform an outdoor concert on Hancher Green. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu Hancher Auditorium will kick off its 2017-2018 season and the new school year with a bang. Leslie Odom Jr. will...
  • UI Symphony Orchestra starts off with first concert of the season

    - Sep 26, 2017
    The UI Symphony Orchestra starts off with first concert of the season, leaving bittersweet impact for several musicians. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Tonight at 7:30 p.m. some of the University of Iowa’s finest musicians will come...
  • National Book Foundation executive director gives talk at The Englert on literature, unity

    - Sep 26, 2017
    The executive director of the National Book Foundation led a talk on the importance of reading and literature. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu The Green Room gave Iowa City a message: Books are powerful. Lisa Lucas held...
  • The sweet success of Sour Heart

    - Sep 21, 2017
    Jenny Zhang will read about being Chinese in the American matrix. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu In her début story collection, Sour Heart, Jenny Zhang creates a harrowing, heartbreaking, and intimate depiction of Chinese immigrant America. Through...
  • 80 Hours calendar (09/21/17)

    - Sep 21, 2017
    THURSDAY 09.21 THEATER • *Bakersfield Mist*, 7:30 p.m., Riverside Theater, 213 N. Gilbert MUSIC • Scott Holden Piano Masterclass, 1:30 p.m., Voxman Recital Hall • *Comedy Tonight!*, 7:30 p.m., Voxman Recital Hall • Crywolf, 8 p.m.,...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links