Events

  • Mission Creek lineup announced

    - Dec 8, 2017
    Mission Creek is entering its 13th year, and it has announced its lineup for next spring. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Mission Creek, Iowa City’s music, art, and literary festival has continually grown for going on 13...
  • Acclaimed a cappella ensemble will headline Hancher

    - Dec 7, 2017
    An acclaimed a cappella ensemble will headline Hancher Friday at 7:30 p.m. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu The a cappella ensemble Straight No Chaser formed at the Indiana University in 1996. More than a decade after its...
  • Graduate, undergrad dancers uncover artistic expressions

    - Dec 7, 2017
    The UI Dance Department will put on graduate/undergraduate dance performance at Space/Place, integrating different music, movement, dialogue, and audience interaction. By Rhiana Chickering rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu When postmodern dance meets timeless artistic expressions, it turns into a mesmerizing...
  • Local artists host annual holiday market

    - Dec 7, 2017
    By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu A group of artists will gather to present and sell their artwork on the streets of Iowa City at their annual market in spirit of the holiday season. Iowa City Eastside Artists...
  • ‘Civil’ play allows audience to decide ending

    - Dec 7, 2017
    The play Civil will be staged at Public Space One, in which the audience decides the verdicts of two trials. By Hannah Crooks hannah-crooks@uiowa.edu It is not often that audience members have the opportunity to choose...
  • Biographer to read at Prairie Lights about her walk on the Wilder side

    - Dec 4, 2017
    Caroline Fraser will read from her new biography about the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder, author of the “Little House on the Prairie,” series. By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu Biographer Caroline Fraser has released her new book,...
  • Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduates read new work at Prairie Lights

    - Dec 1, 2017
    Alessandra Lynch and Michael Tyrell, graduates of the Writers’ Workshop, will read from their new poetry books at a reading on Friday at Prairie Lights. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu Poets seem to be flocking to Iowa City...
  • Tony award-winning musical Fun Home begins its run

    - Nov 30, 2017
    There are two eras in the history of musical theater: before Fun Home and after Fun Home. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu It all comes back to our childhood. Playing airplane with our dad. Watching our mother practicing...
  • Holiday Thieves’ Market wrapped up by UI Fine Arts Council

    - Nov 30, 2017
    The annual Holiday Thieves’ Market will take place this weekend, with Midwestern artists speaking of their experience with the event. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Holiday shopping is being made easier for students with a market in...
  • Not outside the box, no boxes

    - Nov 30, 2017
    Point.0 combines different art forms to achieve a performance with different artistic expressions. By Rhiana Chickering rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu This weekend, audiences will have the opportunity to be captivated by a performance that encompasses diverse artistic expressions. Graduate...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links