Events

  • Witching Hour to feature writers of color

    - Oct 20, 2017
    This weekend, Witching Hour presents the Writers of Color Series featuring many authors, including Kiese Laymon. By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu For this year’s Witching Hour, there will be two panels that are a part of the...
  • Season of the Witching overtakes downtown

    - Oct 19, 2017
    The Witching Hour Festival returns to Iowa City for a third time to delve into the many lives of art. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu The Witching Hour festival is on its third year of exploring the unknown,...
  • The world writes back with guest authors in Shambaugh House reading

    - Oct 19, 2017
    By Tong Tong tong-tong@uiowa.edu On Friday, Yan Chung-hsien and Fujino Kaori will share their work with the university community. As a way to bring the world of literature closer, the International Writing Program brings some the...
  • Twilight trip through reality

    - Oct 19, 2017
    The Theater Department’s newest play, Twilight Bowl, discusses current issues for college women. By Natalie Betz natalie-betz@uiowa.edu The Theater Department’s new play, Twilight Bowl, discusses controversial issues such as abortion, alcoholism in young adults, rape, and...
  • Gender roles, confusion, and trickle-down

    - Oct 12, 2017
    By Sam Hookom samuel-hookom@uiowa.edu Imagine a play combining sexuality, feminism, gender, and the ’80s — that’s Starfire. The University of Iowa Theater Department this evening will lift the curtain on the production, an original work by UI...
  • ‘Bob’s Burgers’ cast heads to IMU

    - Oct 12, 2017
    CAB will present standup comedy featuring voice actors from the animated sitcom “Bob’s Burgers”. The CAB comedy director describes what he hopes they’ll provide for Iowa City. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Comedians H. Jon Benjamin, Eugene...
  • Eerie opera ‘The Medium’ will haunt its audience

    - Oct 12, 2017
    The Medium, a “Tragedy in Two Acts,” is an eerie opera that promises to stay with the audiences long after the curtain comes down. By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Three parents gather in a eerie, cluttered attic...
  • Moby Dick strikes Old Capitol Museum with annual public reading

    - Oct 10, 2017
    A public reading of Moby Dick will take place today through Thursday at the Old Capitol. With the communal reading, people can begin to see the art of reading out loud. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu  The Iowa...
  • Latin rock group La Santa Cecilia to perform at Hancher

    - Oct 5, 2017
    La Santa Cecilia plays a hybrid of music that surpasses the many parts. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu La Santa Cecilia, named after the patron saint of music, is a musical group composed of four people: Jose...
  • Hancher welcomes Broadway royalty

    - Oct 5, 2017
    The King and I will sing and dance its way onto the Hancher stage from Oct. 10-14, gracing Iowa City with its timeless music and charm. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu “Getting to know you, getting to...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links