80 Hours

  • Review: Taylor Swift’s ‘Reputation’

    - Nov 16, 2017
    A review of Taylor Swift’s newest album, Reputation. By Rhiana Chickering rhiana-chickering@uiowa.edu After a three-year break from the release of 1989, Taylor Swift released her sixth studio album, Reputation Nov. 10. The album features a different...
  • Super-universal and everyday, in green

    - Nov 16, 2017
    Agnes in Green focuses on a transgender male who struggles with his parents bickering, has a crush on his best friend, and worries about how he will afford college. By Madison Lotenschtein madison-lotenschtein@uiowa.edu A stage filled to the...
  • Chase Garrett’s Piano Stomp Festival plays the Englert

    - Nov 16, 2017
    The eighth-annual Blues and Boogie-Woogie Piano Stomp performs to a packed house. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu Downtown Iowa City was filled with the sounds of blues and boogie-woogie on Nov. 10 at the Englert, 221 E....
  • A band of voices, reimagined

    - Nov 16, 2017
    Roomful of Teeth reimagines the human voice by pushing the boundaries of vocal music. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu Founder and artistic director of Roomful of Teeth Brad Wells set out to reimagine the human voice through...
  • Award-winning orchestra presents ‘The Blue Hour’

    - Nov 16, 2017
    A Far Cry, with its unique dynamic in music, brings its latest project to Iowa City. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu Hailing from Boston, chamber orchestra A Far Cry operates as an “artistic wheel.” While all of...
  • Drink of the Week (11/16/17)

    - Nov 16, 2017
    The Boilermaker “Boilermaker” is a term originally referring to the men who built and maintained boilers for steam engines back in the early days of the Industrial Revolution … that would be the early 1800s for...
  • Life on an Iowa farm during WWII

    - Nov 15, 2017
    Iowa City resident Ethel Barker will read her latest book of historical fiction, The Andersens of Eden, at Prairie Lights today at 7 p.m. The book details life of a family changed because of the Pearl...
  • UI a cappella groups unite for passionate performance

    - Nov 14, 2017
    The University of Iowa’s four a cappella groups — UI Old Gold, Iowa Agni, Intersection, and Iowa Hawkapellas — come together for a special performance. By Brooklyn Draisey brooklyn-draisey@uiowa.edu The University of Iowa’s a cappella groups...
  • Rolling Stone contributing editor discusses life of Lou Reed in new book

    - Nov 14, 2017
    Anthony DeCurtis reads his book Lou Reed: A Life at Prairie Lights. By Salma Rios salma-rios@uiowa.edu When most people picture Lou Reed, they see him as a bad boy with the leather and studs, the lead singer...
  • Animal Years to take on Blue Moose in Iowa City debut

    - Nov 14, 2017
    Brooklyn indie band Animal Years is set to make its Iowa City début. By Joshua Balicki joshua-balicki@uiowa.edu The Brooklyn-based indie band Animal Years offers a new take on Americana. The threesome will make their Iowa City...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links