80 Hours

  • New view, new bridge

    - Jan 19, 2017
    By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu At first glance, the box-filled stage signifies little more than it appears to be, but over the course of the evening, the boxes will break from their status as bearers of a...
  • Music of the galaxies heads for Hancher

    - Jan 19, 2017
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu The Cleveland Orchestra, though commonly referred to as one of the “Big Five” American classical ensembles, is widely considered second to none. While it keeps company with only the highest order in...
  • ‘Happy Pills’ highlights a postapocolyptic world

    - Jan 19, 2017
    By Hannah Crooks hannah-crooks@uiowa.edu When Alyssa Cokinis began writing her play Happy Pills a few years ago, she had no idea how greatly it would be reimagined by the time it hit the stage. “I originally...
  • Northern Gothic, with wolves in new novel

    - Jan 18, 2017
    Emily Fridlund’s History of Wolves slow-dances its way into Prairie Lights. By Travis Coltrain travis-coltrain@uiowa.edu While it might seem to some that Emily Fridlund’s astonishing writing appeared out of nowhere, that would be untrue. The writer...
  • Coming together, with laughter, against Trump

    - Jan 18, 2017
    Local artists come together for a fundraiser in the aftermath of Donald Trump’s inauguration. By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu Comedy, music, and art simultaneously influence and are influenced by the current social and political climate. In times...
  • Emotions, math, songs ably to fill the Mill

    - Jan 18, 2017
    By Austin Henderson austin-henderson@uiowa.edu As the latest stop on her nationwide tour, rising singer/songwriter Margaret Glaspy will perform today at local music institution the Mill. The show, which will begin at 8 p.m. and cost $12,...
  • Tripping the comedy fantastic this weekend

    - Dec 15, 2016
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Best known for his routines revolving around the topic of psychedelic trips, Shane Mauss is not your run-of-the-mill comedian. Now, on his latest tour, Mauss will bring his distinct comedy to Iowa...
  • Art doesn’t hibernate in winter

    - Dec 15, 2016
    By the Daily Iowan Arts & Culture Staff As the semester winds down and finals wind up, University of Iowa students flock to the library and the IMU to cram in a few more hours of...
  • Going to gray in New England

    - Dec 15, 2016
    By Austin Henderson Austin-henderson@uiowa.edu Manchester by the Sea opens with footage of the islets off the New England coast. Viewed from the possible vantage point of a seagull, the bleakness of late fall is captured in...
  • IC dreaming of a Black Christmas this year

    - Dec 15, 2016
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu In the eclectic offering of special events at Gabe’s — fall’s Thankskilling throwdown, the annual Elvis Presley fundraiser — none stand in esteem or affection like Saturday’s Black Christmas. No, it’s not...