• D-line pulls through

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    It’s easy to make the argument that Iowa’s defensive line has been nearly as good as the secondary. By Jordan Hansen jordan-hansen@uiowa.edu As a whole, Iowa’s defense has been one of the better units in the...
  • From Andes to alligators

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Frigid wind cuts through Ecuador’s Mount Chimborazo, but Baltazar Ushca has learned to live with the cold. He swings his pickaxe into the base of the glacier, shattering the ice like glass....
  • Enthusiasm greets Clinton

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    Hillary Clinton returned to Iowa Wednesday, speaking in favor of the Affordable Care Act and student-loan reform. By Aaron Walker aaron-walker-1@uiowa.edu MT. VERNON — Hillary Clinton was on the stump again in Iowa on Wednesday as...
  • UI releases driving drowsy study

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    By Lily Abromeit One new University of Iowa study shows that drowsy driving could be more dangerous than it seems. The National Advanced Driving Simulator on the UI campus recently studied the effects of driving without...
  • Perkins Loans fade away

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    By Anders Frieberg anders-frieberg@uiowa.edu “Got debt?” seems to be the appropriate slogan for college students today. The federal Perkins Loan Program expired on Oct. 1 after Congress did not vote to extend it. Funded through the...
  • Hopefuls agree on environment

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    By Katelyn Weisbrod katelyn-weisbrod@uiowa.edu With an impending city goal of net zero carbon emissions by 2030, the Iowa City City Council candidates unanimously agreed: the city needs to take environmental issues seriously. Local environmental organizations coordinated...
  • County to overhaul justice panel

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    The Johnson County Criminal Justice committee is making changes to start fresh. By Kenyon Ellsworth kenyon-ellsworth@uiowa.edu A county committee will wipe the slate clean and start its membership from scratch. The Johnson County Criminal Justice Coordinating...
  • Spoon ‘River’ arrives at UI

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    Spoon University gives foodies a place to read about all things food. By Katelyn Weisbrod katelyn-weisbrod@uiowa.edu Spoon University is coming to campus. The website compiles culinary information such as recipes and restaurant reviews from colleges around...
  • Library gallery ready for liftoff

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    Library gallery ready for liftoff by Kenyon Ellsworth kenyon-ellsworth@uiowa.edu The library’s new exhibition space is ready for liftoff. The new gallery in the Main Library is completed and ready to welcome its first exhibit in early...
  • Volleyball drops heartbreaker

    by - Oct 8, 2015
    Iowa won the first two sets, then dropped the final three. By Kyle Mann kyle-mann@uiowa.edu The Wednesday night matchup between the Iowa volleyball team and No. 24 Michigan was truly a tale of two halves. First,...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links