• Seeking financial responsibility

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    By Anis Shakirah Mohd Muslimin anisshakirah-mohdmuslimin@uiowa.edu One City Council candidate is ready to get right into action. Rick Dobyns, 59, has been the incumbent for District A on the Iowa City City Council since 2012. “My...
  • Seeking a just Iowa City

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    By Austin Petroski austin-petroski@uiowa.edu City Councilor Jim Throgmorton says he is the most experienced and hardworking candidate running for City Council. Throgmorton, a professor emeritus of urban and regional planning at the University of Iowa, has...
  • Board mulls online forum

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    Sandra Omari-Boateng sandra-omari-boateng@uiowa.edu Public comments could soon go online. The Iowa City School Board discussed the possibility of implementing a new online forum for members of the community to voice opinions on Tuesday. Board members said...
  • Reception to be held for Plumly

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Stanley Plumly’s *The Immortal Evening: A Legendary Dinner With Keats, Wordsworth, and Lamb * is being awarded the highest honor in literary criticism, the Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism. A reception...
  • Faculty discusses TIER reports

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    Several University of Iowa committees will review advice given by the Pappas Consulting Group and Ad Astra at a state Board of Regents meeting last week to see if the recommendations made would work on campus....
  • UNI faculty back UI faculty

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    The University of Northern Iowa’s Faculty Senate has voiced support for faculty at the University of Iowa. The UNI Senate agreed on a statement that showed solidarity for a no confidence vote by the UI Faculty...
  • Breaking down the chasm

    by - Oct 28, 2015
     They are two political titans who wield vast influence in Iowa’s political sphere, each with incredibly different social viewpoints. Among LGBTQ circles, One Iowa executive director Donna Red Wing is seen as a champion of equal...
  • Barrett shines as starter

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett won conference Player of the Week honors in first game as starter. By Jordan Hansen jordan-hansen@uiowa.edu After a through dismantling of Rutgers on Oct. 24, it seems as if Ohio State...
  • Volleyball Hawks reawaken in loss


    by - Oct 28, 2015
    Despite dropping the match, 3-0, the Hawkeyes believe they found their identity in a close third set. By Kyle Mann kyle-mann@uiowa.edu Despite dropping two matches over the weekend to No. 16 Wisconsin and No. 9 Minnesota,...
  • Soccer heads for last match

    by - Oct 28, 2015
    Iowa will take on No. 10 Rutgers in the season finale. By Courtney Baumann courtney-baumann@uiowa.edu Tuesday’s practice for the Iowa soccer team was light and fun. The Hawkeyes divided into five teams for trivia and a...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links