• Opera troupe gets cozy with IC

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Girindra Selleck girindra-selleck@uiowa.edu MUSIC Così fan tutte When: 5 p.m. Friday Where: Iowa City Public Library, 123 S. Linn Admission: Free Iowa City Concert Opera, founded in May by University of Iowa graduate students Lisa Neher and...
  • Friday night joy graces IC

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    As August nears an end, you may begin to feel you’re wasting your warm summer nights searching for something to switch up your dull, repetitive routine. Summer of the Arts will attempt to provide a solution...
  • Comedy meets beats meets who knows?

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu COMEDY What: Dakaboom When: 10 p.m. Friday Where: IMU Hawkeye Room Admission: Free A cappella and beat box, falsetto and bass, pop and hip-hop. Musical opposites fly in the air, unexpectedly melting...
  • Maine-lining the indie-folk scene

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu The Brunswick, Maine, local rental store DVD Explosion was closed for the day, but Aly Spaltro was still there working. She had transformed the store’s basement into a makeshift studio. Her albums,...
  • Dreaming big in new Hancher

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Grace Pateras grace-pateras@uiowa.edu From sitting in the Hancher Auditorium audience as a child to performing on its stage and launching a career touring across the country, one successful Iowan is excited about the opening of...
  • Batman: Arkham Knight and a look at E3

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    Game Rating: 8.5/10 By Jordan Ryder jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu Arkham Knight is both hands down my favorite Arkham title and a fitting conclusion to the series. Plot is difficult to discuss without spoiling it, but, of the series,...
  • UISG takes on catcalling

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Cindy Garcia cindy-garcia@uiowa.edu “IT’S NOT OK” — blunt posters hung on Cambuses are calling on students to stop catcalling are part of a national effort to stop sexual misconduct. The It’s On Us campaign was...
  • Tinder in the night

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    From the web: Tinder, the popular dating app for millennials, released a list on Tuesday of the schools that “swipe right” the most on its student population. The app displays photos of users nearby and includes...
  • False candidates make their polling marks: What Deez Nuts and other faux candidates say about polling.

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Brent Griffiths brent-griffiths@uiowa.edu It may have taken an Iowa teenager, but businessman Donald Trump temporarily shared the political spotlight with another, albeit unlikely, challenger. Deez Nuts, 15-year-old Brady Olson of Wallingford, Iowa, sparked national headlines...
  • Laugh-tivists kick up confusion

    by - Aug 27, 2015
    By Hatte Kelley hatte-kelley@uiowa.edu Officials staged a Transparent Inclusive Efficiency Review press conference at the Iowa City Public Library on Wednesday afternoon. The representatives were actually prankster activists, and the entire presentation was a satirical critique...