• Public Library welcomes music school move

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    By Adam Buhck adam-buhck@uiowa.edu The Iowa City Public Library, 123 S. Linn St., will kick off Music is the Word, nine months of special programming, on Sept. 20 with a musical revue at the Englert Theater, 221...
  • Despite glitches, Pain is good

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    By Jordan Ryder jordan-ryder@uiowa.edu 9.5 out of 10 I crouched behind a boulder, hoping the soldier would keep walking rather than investigate the shadow he saw as I took cover. The wind started whipping up, flinging...
  • A marriage of art

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    By Tessa Solomon tessa-solomon@uiowa.edu Screenings, readings, and now a wedding. Public Space One, 120 N. Dubuque St., has seen it all. Fabrics, paints, and patterns have been united in the gallery’s upcoming installation Arranged Marriage. An...
  • Really Company

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    Company will be performed at 7:30 p.m. Sept. 20 at the Coralville Center for the Performing Arts, 1301 Fifth St. The Stephen Sondheim musical follows the story of Robert, a bachelor on the night of his 35th birthday. His friends...
  • Magical collisions of words, theater

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    By Jasmine Putney jasmine-putney@uiowa.edu Shred the script. Dim the lights. Erase the preconceptions that constrain the endless possibilities of theater. The liveliness of performing-arts teams up with the elegance of the written word at 8 p.m....
  • Traveling into art

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    By Claire Dietz claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Keith Achepohl has been an artist since he can remember. Seventy of those years have been spent not only making art but also traveling the Mediterranean. Achepohl, a University of Iowa professor...
  • Of a funeral and family secrets

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    The film Tom at the Farm, by Xavier Dolan, a 26-year-old upstart director, festival darling, and Cannes favorite, will head to FilmScene, 118 E. College St., for a one-night-only screening at 11 p.m. Saturday. The director —...
  • Mixed news for the UI’s national standing

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    According to a new release of college and university rankings, the University of Iowa has tumbled in three distinguishing categories: schools for veterans, public universities, and overall ranking. U.S. News & World Report posted its annual...
  • Hateful people have found a rallying point in Trump

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    Hannah Soyer hannah-soyer@uiowa.edu This past weekend, protesters against Donald Trump held signs at a tailgate for the Iowa/Iowa State game in Ames, where Trump was visiting. One of these protesters, Jovani Rubio, held a sign that...
  • Letters to the editor

    by - Sep 17, 2015
    Voice concerns about Harreld’s appointment      I want to thank Daily Iowan columnist writer Hannah Soyer for her column “Harreld backlash shows no signs of stopping.” The governor and state Board of Regents have brusquely...

Daily Iowan TV

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links