• Blotters

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    Amber Arens, 20, 114 E. Fairchild St., was charged April 27 with public intoxication. Gregory Hardison, 19, E329 Currier, was charged April 26 with obstructing an officer, public intoxication, and tampering with a motor vehicle. Javier...
  • North Liberty man accused of sexually abusing four minors

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    Authorities have accused a North Liberty man of sexually abusing four minors. Benjamin Tweedt, 32, was charged with third-degree sexual abuse, two counts of lascivious acts with a child, three counts of indecent contact with a...
  • Barta: Many abuse complaints in 2014

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    By Blake Dowson blake-dowson@uiowa.edu Information regarding in which sports some athletes alleged verbal and mental abuse in 2014 exit interviews could have been made available to Iowa Athletics Director Gary Barta if he had requested it,...
  • Mysterious loves, a lost son, and swords

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    The Theater Department’s annual New Play Festival Kicks off May 1st, with productions tackling a diverse array of themes ranging from loss and marginalization to the timeless influence of Henrik Ibsen. By Isaac Hamlet isaac-hamlet@uiowa.edu The...
  • Whose improv is it, anyway?

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    By Claire Dietz  claire-dietz@uiowa.edu Finding someone who doesn’t enjoy games may be a challenge. But finding someone who wants to play games involving being funny, on stage, live, in front of hundreds of people is no...
  • Finding James Baldwin in lyrics and rhythm

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    By Austin Henderson  austin-henderson@uiowa.edu Today, Prairie Lights will feature author Ed Pavlic in the latest edition of its famed reading series, “Live from Prairie Lights.” In the 7 p.m. reading, he will read from his 2015...
  • ‘Buffy’ buff in a magical world

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    By Brett Shaw brett-e-shaw@uiowa.edu “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” is as old as I am, both of us originating in 1997. Although I did not start watching the show until many years after its final season, its...
  • Found in translation

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    The Translate Iowa Project releases its first publication. By Lily Goodman lily-goodman@uiowa.edu Although founded only a little more than a year ago, the Translate Iowa Project is achieving great success. One of the university’s newest student...
  • Opinions divided on Trump so far

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    Please support award-winning college journalism and engagement. Click here to donate....Read More
  • DI staffer details finding white supremacy card

    by - Apr 27, 2017
    By Daily Iowan staff daily-iowan@uiowa.edu On Wednesday afternoon, it was reported that a white supremacy card was found in the University of Iowa main library. A photo of the card circulated on social media. A Daily...