• Englert gets its Goats

    by - Sep 20, 2017
    The Mountain Goats took on the Englert, providing a vibrant performance while promoting the group’s latest album. By Sarah Stortz sarah-stortz@uiowa.edu   In a pitch-black Englert on Sept. 13, the hymns of an orchestra murmured, with...
  • Glasson officially in for 2018

    by - Sep 20, 2017
    Cathy Glasson officially announced her bid for the 2018 gubernatorial democratic nomination on Tuesday. Volunteers for her campaign say her commitment to education and a $15 minimum wage set her apart from the others. By Molly...
  • Fall is arriving earlier than normal due to drought

    by - Sep 20, 2017
    The leaves are changing colors and falling earlier than normal. This is because of the drought encompassing Iowa, but there won’t be any long-term effects. By Jordan Prochnow jordan-prochnow@uiowa.edu Iowa City may be in for a...
  • Documentary brings suicide stigma to light

    by - Sep 20, 2017
    A free screening of a new film, The S Word, at Englert aims to bring down the stigma of silence surrounding suicide during Suicide Prevention Month. By Paige Schlichte paige-schlichte@uiowa.edu Because September is National Suicide Prevention...
  • Big Ten notebook: James Franklin and Nittany Lions ready to roll into Iowa

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    Here’s what coaches from around the Big Ten had to say at their weekly press conferences during Week 3. By Courtney Baumann courtney-baumann@uiowa.edu The first week of Big Ten play is finally here, and Iowa is...
  • Tennis ready for Milwaukee

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    The Iowa men’s and women’s tennis teams will send part of the squads to compete at the Milwaukee Tennis Classic this week. By James Geerdes james-geerdes@uiowa.edu The Iowa tennis teams will be back in action today...
  • Iowa Notebook: Penn State’s many weapons

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    Iowa is heading into a primetime matchup versus number 4 Penn State. The Nittany Lions dominated last season’s game and hope to continue the streak—And Iowa is going into the game without backup running back James...
  • Men’s golf bounces back, finishes second at Cedar Rapids

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    After struggling in the opening tournament, the Iowa men’s golf team finished second at the Golfweek Conference Challenge. By Sean Bock sean-bock@uiowa.edu After finishing 14th last week at the Gopher Invitational, the Iowa men’s golf team...
  • Guest Opinion: Israel Anti-Boycott bill doesn’t violate free speech

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    The Israel Anti-Boycott bill is directed at the United Nations resolution calling for a boycott of Israeli-owned businesses on the West Bank. It prohibits cooperation with the boycott and with nongovernmental organizations’ calls for similar boycotts....
  • Column: Yes, the “liberal media” is a real problem

    by - Sep 19, 2017
    Criticism of the “liberal media” often generates eye-rolls, even though it’s based in truth. By Isabella Rosario isabella-rosario@uiowa.edu As a journalist, I believe the media are essential to maintaining a strong democracy, and I still condemn...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links