• Russia calling, alum answering

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    A UI alumna sets her sights on Russia, U.S. State Department, and beyond. By Denise Cheeseman denise-cheeseman@uiowa.edu A freshman-year general-education course does not usually lead to a career path, but Samantha Korns’ Russian language class did...
  • Nobody catching Warriors, Cavaliers

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    As the NBA off-season has provided some dramatic changes, a Daily Iowan staffer gives his opinion on how the moves won’t actually change anything. The dominant will always reign supreme. By Adam Hensley adam-hensley@uiowa.edu It’s been...
  • Point/Counter Point: All-Star arguments erupt

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    As the MLB All-Star game approaches and ballots are cast, should fans rule the starting lineups? Yes For the first time in several years, the MLB All-Star game is just that, an All-Star game. In years...
  • 45 Iowa student-athletes named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    The Big Ten announced that 45 Iowa student-athletes were honored as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars. <br />  To be eligible for the award, athletes must be at least in their second academic year and achieve a...
  • Love and death and beguiling in the war

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    In the midst of the Civil War, love, violence, and feminism are intertwined. By Irene Enlow irene-enlow@uiowa.edu Sultry, spooky, and sensual, The Beguiled, which is playing at FilmScene, is a dark summer tale that explores the...
  • Prall: Cruz’s health amendment an unhealthy disaster (as if we needed more)

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    Sen. Ted Cruz’s proposed amendment to the Better Care Reconciliation Act reflects the true intentions of the bill: dismissing the needs of many for the tax cuts of a few. By Jacob Prall jacob-prall@uiowa.edu The new...
  • Football adds Nevada transfer for upcoming season

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    The Iowa football program snagged James Butler, a running back from Nevada, on Tuesday. Butler graduated from Nevada in three years and will be able to play for Iowa this fall because of the graduate transfer...
  • Elliot: Into the maw

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    By Beau Elliot  beauelliot@gmail.com I don’t really care about arm deals for the most part. Yeah, I know: the U.S. and some other canny nations sell tons of weapons to people you don’t want to meet...
  • Townsend: Exploding all the stereotypes of Africa

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    By visiting places and meeting those who are ‘other,’ we can re-examine the harmful stereotypes we have. By Laura Townsend laura-townsend@uiowa.edu I ran my index finger over a dent in the large oak table, wishing I...
  • Former Hawkeye volleyball player goes pro in Europe

    by - Jul 6, 2017
    Ashley Mariani, a former Hawkeye volleyball player, will head to the professional world. Mariani signed a contract to play professional volleyball for VfB Suhl LOTTO Thüringen, located in Suhl, Germany. <br />  “I have decided to...

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links