Supervisors Mike Carberry, Kurt Friese, Janelle Rettig and Lisa Green-Douglass listen to public comment during a Johnson County board of supervisors meeting on Monday, Oct. 9, 2017. (Joseph Cress/The Daily Iowan)

Rettig, Heiden win seats on Johnson County supervisors


Johnson County Board of Supervisors
Chair Mike Carberry will not get a seat on the board after being
defeated in the June 5 primary by Janelle Rettig and Pat

Rettig led the race, capturing 63
percent of the vote —
10,820 votes — Heiden followed with 53 percent,
9,116 votes, and Carberry trailed at 40 percent,
6,927 votes.

The three candidates ran for the two
supervisor spots available. There were no Republican candidates in the
primary, so Heiden and Rettig will probably remain unopposed in the
November election.

Carberry apologized in early May for a
2010 incident in which he made lewd comments to a coworker while
working for the Iowa Renewable Energy Association. The incident
resulted in the elimination of his executive-director position and
prompted his resignation from the organization.

— Emily Wangen

Special Sections

Print Edition

Front Page PDF

Text Links